Poets logo

Tomatoes, how deeply I despise thee

Not a most controversial hatred...

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
12
Tomatoes, how deeply I despise thee
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Dear Tomatoes,

You are disgusting.

You are only a four point three on the pH scale?

You taste like a negative four point three!!

And people eat- and enjoy you?

Your leaves are toxic... Yet the fruit is edible?

How does that make any sense? I don't get how I'm supposed to trust you... you're a fruit, but you're not remotely delicious. You're bitter. Disgusting.

A tomato on my burger ruins my day.

They say, "Take it off!!"

Yet you've already tainted it with your unpleasant fluids.

Not juice. Whatever liquid it is you excrete is not deserving of that title.

You water down the ketchup.

You make the bun detestably soggy.

And can I even speak of the reprehensible deeds you committed with the mustard?

BLT? Nah, I'll stick with a good ol' BL.

Why?

You're nasty!!

Yet somehow you find your way into the innocent hearts of the masses. Somehow you are a staple on a burger, and yet I can only stand you in a soup when you've been boiled and tortured into perfection.

You're too squishy to bear, and you make a huge mess. And must I speak again about your taste? No. It brings me too much pain to talk of it again.

I shall leave it at that. You are a despicable creation, and I wish you extinction.

Love,

CL

humor
12

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Jordan Sky Daniels11 months ago

    Ketchup and spaghetti sauce I like I'll dodge and weave avoiding tomatoes.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    That don't agree with you at all but this was a fun read! Thank you for taking part in this wonderfully silly challenge!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Cezanne.... I could not have said this better myself!!! I hate tomates, I love them in sauces and things where I can't taste their tomato-y awfulness! I delight when I get a tomato on my burger and I get to throw its disgusting carcass out!!! The juices always upset me because I know that's the dar thing fighting back... those awful tomatoes always seem to win... 🥴

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Baby tomatoes I love the taste in my mouth. I eat it because it is healthy but eh, I can take it or leave it. Hi Cezanne.

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Funny! Even though the ripe tomato is one of my favs!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Lol. This is great. However, it's the first one I've seen that I have to disagree with. Love tomatoes.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    This was great, even though I love tomatoes. 😌

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Cute 😊 Mmmmmm mmm. I like Thick slices of a vine ripened Tomato, mayonnaise, salt and pepper between two slices of Sourdough bread!! Yum!

  • Lol, this was very relatable as I'm not a fan of tomatoes either 🤣🤣🤣

  • Great, fun little poem

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    “Unpleasant fluids” ewwwww 🤣🤣🤣. Love it!! It took me decades but I can now eat and enjoy tomatoes in specific things… but I still have a HUGE aversion to cherry tomatoes (and all other foods that look like eyeballs and have a similar eyebally texture hahah)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.