Poets logo

Ocean & Shore

Entry to Real Poetic's Mini Contest

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
5
Ocean & Shore
Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

My sea

Burgeons each day

Didn't know how to contain it

Until I became a poet.

...

I expanded my shores

More room to crash on

More expressively

All because I have more room for my sea

...

Okay, if you didn't get the metaphor, then I will be happy to explain it.

Rumi said, "Heart is sea, language is shore. Whatever sea includes, will hit the shore."

The basic metaphor here is that by writing poetry, I learned more words. I learned to express my feelings better. I expanded my shores, so there was more space for the sea to crash on.

I could suddenly tell people more about my emotions, more expressively, because I started writing poetry.

And that is how poetry has changed my life.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    One cannot fight the tide or contain the waves. I think language and writing is more like ships and sumbarines with which we explore the ocean's expanse and plumb its depths. This was a great little verse, Cezanne! 😀

  • Doc Sherwood11 months ago

    A superb poem on the art of writing, which deploys a vivid natural-world metaphor with tremendous skill. It's absolutely true there's nothing sadder to see than someone unable to articulate their emotional experience, and I wish more poets would write about the wonderful enabling power of their craft. Words are the tools by which we become able to express our feelings, and in so doing understand them too. I hope this poem did very well in the mini-challenge!

  • Gosh this was so beautiful! I loved the way you explained the metaphor!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is just wonderfully written. Also I loved your blurb at the end. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.