Poets logo

Threat (Clockmail)

Hands up.

By TheSpinstressPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
4
Threat (Clockmail)
Photo by Joan Tran on Unsplash

I kill time that wants to live.

I'm not winding you up.

It's time to be alarmed.

Put your hands up, clock.

Tick for no, tock for yes:

did you, or did you not,

carve this frown line between my eyes

while I wasn't looking?

Just because you're up all night

what gives you the right

to dabble moles along my shoulders,

and add glitter to my hair?

Did anyone ask you to introduce me

to your best friend, gravity?

I don't think you understand her situation.

Hands up, clock; stop your idle tock

if you or my waistband moves another inch

you're finished.

humorFree VerseFor Fun
4

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    You are so darned funny. Now i need to have that conversation with my clock. My waistband needs a wake-up call.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Love the humor in this poem 🤗👍🏽

  • Did anyone ask you to introduce me to your best friend, gravity? Hahahahhahahaha that line was hilarious! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.