Poets logo

at night we watch classic comedy

and sometimes we smile at each other

By TheSpinstressPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
7
at night we watch classic 
comedy
Photo by Illia Panasenko on Unsplash

He laughs and I see him how he was when I was small

when I was clever and knew to make him smile;

I was happy to be like him in any way at all.

*

When I am too wee to know my daddy isn't tall

I trot along beside him, his admiring rank and file.

He laughs and I see him how he was when I was small.

*

When I knew nothing about genes and alcohol

and before I knew his heart stored all the bile -

I was happy to be like him in any way at all.

*

The creature that appears to scream and bawl

concealed itself in those days, full of guile.

He laughs and I see him how he was when I was small.

*

Though now I tiptoe with an expertise admired by all

and I would never yell at you or act hostile,

I was happy to be like him in any way at all.

*

All resemblance now does nothing but appall

but we like the same jokes still, so for a while

he laughs and I see him how he was when I was small.

I was happy to be like him in any way at all.

heartbreakVillanellesad poetryMental HealthFamily
7

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    This piece of writing is a masterpiece. I must admit that I was captivated by it and truly enjoyed every word.

  • Gosh this broke my heart so much. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    How can something like a love to one's parent be so heartwarming and devastating at the same time?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.