Poets logo

THIS

Matter in Motion

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
7
Newton by William Blake

Mom is not coming home.

<>

She's gone to a better place.

<>

It was well worth hanging around

To spend time with her.

I don't regret it; but she's gone,

And the nest has dried up in the sun.

<>

The tree is blasted with lightning.

<>

The force of it knocked me to the ground,

And I've been lying here,

Watching my thoughts go by

Like clouds in the sky,

Wishing, fervently wishing,

That the lightning struck me,

Killed me instead, killed me dead.

<>

This is no way to live,

And no way to honor her memory.

She wanted better for me,

And I always disappointed her,

Though she was ever too kind to say so.

<>

I'll never stop feeling

This sadness,

This loneliness,

But there is beauty in

This solitude

I never beheld

<>

Until this everlasting now,

Until this neverending today,

Unto this infinite tomorrow.

<>

I must go,

Be the weary traveler again,

The fleeting shadow that falls

Across culture but never lingers

To be caught in its bubbling morass.

<>

I must be free from this

So that I become this.

***** * *****

Commentary:

If we consider the title anagrammatically, we can come to understand how one might turn good to bad or bad to good. Everything turns. Every whole, every outcome, every journey, and every destination, is ultimately made of the same matter, though we might remark that it does, after all, matter, even when it doesn’t.

The poet’s task is to take matter and make it matter.

What’s the matter? Don’t you understand?

Oh, well. It doesn’t matter. Fare thee well!

Free Verse
7

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    that was really sad hope so you will survive better from this

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    The pain of losing a parent. That's one of the reasons I don't want children. I don't wanna subject them to that pain. Anyway, I hope you are okay Rommi. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    I think this is one of the most powerful things that I've ever read by you. It may not be based on fact but if it is, I'm sorry for your loss and the ensuing anagrammatic 'this'. Hope everything's okay as I sense from this anger and challenge. Hope it's just your way of working your way out of it, whatever 'it' is.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fantastic!!! Superbly written and loved it!!!♥ ♥ ♥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.