Poets logo

The value of a human life

.

By Christiane WinterPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
35
The value of a human life
Photo by Who’s Denilo ? on Unsplash

What is the value of a human life?

It must be high, because we don't have the rights to ourselves.

I can't kill myself, that would be selfish. ___ loves me too much to bear that, i'm told. Not to mention ___, and ___, and ___, and ___ and ___ and ____ and any number of ___'s who assign me as theirs.

Why should I have to stay alive to exist as a commodity for others to consume?

Stay alive, and when you die, machines will keep you sustained until the world has finished with you.

What is the value of a human life, and why has it never been mine to own?

Can we put a price on the love of others? If someday, I am rich enough, if I work hard enough, can I buy them out?

Keep breathing. Keep fighting. Keep working. Keep grinding. You are useful. You have a purpose. You are owned.

The value of my life, disassembled and sold for stock in other peoples hearts. I am ornamental, dusted off like the Sunday Best and worn threadbare.

I didn't sign up to do the repairs.

Stream of Consciousnessslam poetryMental HealthFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
35

About the Creator

Christiane Winter

Science fiction, horror, and dark comedy enthusiast. I have been a GM for D&D for 10 years, playing for nearly 20. Like all aspiring authors, I have hundreds of stories, and almost none have been finished.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • E.K. Daniels3 months ago

    This is dark and cutting and a deep reflection on the commodification of humanity. Well done. I’m glad I found your work!

  • My Life care ideas4 months ago

    "Enjoying your insightful content! If you're interested in similar topics, feel free to check out my profile for more. Would love to connect and share thoughts!"

  • Test4 months ago

    Superb work! Keep it up—congratulations!

  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    This is incredible. I hope you feel proud. This sent my mind spiraling in directions it hasn’t gone before. I’m a survivor of a teenage suicide attempt, and there have been many times in my life when I questioned why I’m here. I’m now one of the happiest people I’ve ever known, which is kinda odd, because my life is “normal.” I do not have it all. I know people who seemingly have it all and they’re miserable. I think the secret is to live for yourself only. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful literary art with us. I appreciate you. 🩷

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Disassembled and sold for stock in other people's hearts - love that bit!

  • Pamela Walsh-Holte4 months ago

    I wanted to shout YES! at the end, this is moving and I love it!

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Great piece of literature here

  • Reija Sillanpaa4 months ago

    Thought-provoking work. Thank you for sharing.

  • Erez Gerz4 months ago

    Beautiful and deeply affecting!

  • Jeff koli4 months ago

    Nice one. Congrats.

  • Kodah4 months ago

    💖 Congrats on top story!!💖

  • cool!

  • Outstanding work

  • Perry Minkoff4 months ago

    SO powerful! Wow!

  • A. Lenae4 months ago

    This is stunning in its thoughtful riskiness. Your last statement will stay with me all day and likely much longer than that. The worth of something/someone/ourselves is so complex, and you simplified it in a skilled and lovely way.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Very nicely done. Congrats on the TS.

  • kp4 months ago

    a stunning meditation. thank you for sharing this.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    More to this than simple words, took me a while to soak it all in. Congratulations

  • Herbert Matson4 months ago

    Discover timeless elegance with the Tiffany Linen Fold Lamp, available exclusively at antiquevintagelamps. Illuminate your space with vintage charm and sophistication. https://antiquevintagelamps.com/product/tiffany-linen-fold-lamp

  • Evelyn Reads4 months ago

    Wow just... wow! At first I almost didn't dare respond. It seems dangerous somehow, and yet your text conveys a feeling I think many of us have experienced. It is also provoking, and seem to "vibrate" somehow. Living only for other people is not a great feeling. I do hope (if the poem reflects your own life) you find your freedom soon, and by that I mean I hope you find joy in living on your own terms. Doing the repairs because you want to, not because someone else told you to. Wishing you luck!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.