Poets logo

The blessings of Memories from Christmas's Past

Christmas Poem

By Alexis MundyPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1

It's hard to believe it's almost Christmas 2023.

Time has flown and as I get older I find myself looking back to those days

so many beautiful memories come back to me.

putting the tree up and decorating it remembering your eyes lighting up

Your innocence so beautiful. Where have those years gone?

You my darling children are all grown up. One of you is gone lost to this

world and yet I can picture you all as if it were yesterday.

Unwrapping your presents with excitement and glee, your faces a picture.

Now I sit alone lost in thought wishing I could bring those days back.

I miss you Andrew the day you died broke my heart

The chain we built is now broken but I have my memories.

I feel blessed to have had you my children and with a tear in my eye

Those days I will always treasure and when I catch myself feeling sad

I have been blessed in so many ways, memories are priceless

Merry Christmas one and all!

h

t

.

The twinkling lights of the stores people getting into the christmas spirit

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Alexis Mundy

I am originally from the UK. Now living in New Zealand. My life so far has been a rollercoaster. I have children with special needs, lost my previous husband in 2008 and in 2021 my son Andrew died. Writing has and is cathartic for me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss. Your poem was beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.