Poets logo

The Black Dog That is Depression!

Overcoming Depression

By Alexis MundyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3

Today I woke in a pit of despair my life was disintegrating in front of me.

I feel a sense of foreboding, how do I get through this deep dark tunnel?

The black dog, the black hole they are all such hopeless words

Yet this is how I feel. I stand in a crowd the loneliness envelops me.

Everyone seems happy or are some of them like me masking?

Just to make others feel good.

People say you will get over it. You're just having a bad day.

If only it were that simple.

I try to snap out of it but the more I try to do this

The more I feel myself slipping away into oblivion.

I awake each day trying to feel like the old me

But the darkness returns with the light of the day.

The only time I am alright is at night when asleep

I can escape into another world where things seem brighter

But the hours quickly slip by and another day dawns.

Life is passing me by, yet I am powerless in my melancholy.

I just want to feel normal again, to smell the flowers

And to feel that there is hope!

I hide away in my room head in a book or staring into space.

I can't go on like this, I am falling faster and faster

Into that great abyss, never to return.

But how? What can I do? Who will help me?

Is there anyone out there? Can you help me?

Finally, I need to get help, and I will!

Alexis Mundy

Mental Health
3

About the Creator

Alexis Mundy

I am originally from the UK. Now living in New Zealand. My life so far has been a rollercoaster. I have children with special needs, lost my previous husband in 2008 and in 2021 my son Andrew died. Writing has and is cathartic for me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Oh my Dear, I am so sorry, you are having troubles. Sit outside with the kiddies and look at nature until you can find someone to help you come up out of this depression! I'm sorry about your husband and son. It sounds like a lot. Writing helps you, but you need more.❣️🙏

  • “M”2 months ago

    All the best for you, you’re doing great

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.