Poets logo

That Old Book Smell

Things I Forgot: Part 2

By Brenton FPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
6
© IFC Films

i forgot to remember

things i let fall behind

things i let slip my mind

the things i forgot part two

unfortunately

i have no wish to recollect

i have no time to introspect

i have simply chosen to neglect

all these things i wanna try and forget

i forgot to remember

things that went by the way

things not here not today

the things i forgot part two

yet not so unexpectedly

they can’t hurt me anymore

unless i choose to let them

no point trying to regret them

best to try and forget them

i forgot to remember

the good and the bad

the happy the sad

the things i forgot part two

and in what could be a conclusion

[I FORGOT TO REMEMBER THIS BIT]

ah selective corrective amnesia

prescribed and imbibed analgesia

a bout of selfless self anaesthesia

i forgot to remember

parts of me i didn’t want to be

parts of you too good to be true

the things i forgot part two

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Evocative writing and introspective; a place many of us are familiar with but don't admit to. I really liked this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.