Poets logo

Smoke

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Smoke
Photo by Matt Hearne on Unsplash

Fire follows me everywhere

car fires, apartment fires, laundry room fires

igniting nearby until I wonder if I'm throwing off sparks

do my shoes become matches striking off pavement?

am I leaving flames behind in my wake?

do you smell the smoke clinging to me or is it a memory burned into my nostrils,

vivid and ashy from blackened walls, melted ceiling fans, hours of tiptoeing around broken glass taking photos for insurance adjusters,

assessing damages, scrubbing the smell out of my scalp

wash, rinse, repeat, repeat, repeat

how many times does the average person check a smoke detector?

are you memorizing evacuation plans

or is that just me waiting for the next alarm to go off?

fact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Superb! Nicely enhanced the feeling of danger.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.