Poets logo

Some things are fundamental

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Some things are fundamental
Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

He doesn't get me like you do,

that innate understanding of being the same at our cores.

Differences are fine, but some things are fundamental

I wonder if I'll ever feel that way again

if I'll ever look at someone and know I would give them everything, work forever to find a way to bottle the world and present it with all my love

Maybe that was only for you

Maybe that is why I still feel like I'm waiting, suspended in time as the world keeps moving around me,

for you to return

even though I know you won't

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Nice words. Great!

  • May you find yourself blessed to find someone knew who inspires even greater devotion, largely because of their willingness/desire to return the same to you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.