Poets logo

Sixku 26-30

My six-word poems with a twist

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
18
Sixku 26-30
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I am back with another series of sixku...

Sixku 26

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

A path

among ancient trees,

higher?

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

Vancouver Island is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. I saw the tallest and oldest trees in my life! They left me in awe more than once.

Sixku 27

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Nightly wander:

footsteps recede;

tables remain.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

During my trip to the castles of the Loire Valley in 2016, I spent a few nights in Angers. This lovely city was the cradle of the Plantagenet dynasty and one of the intellectual centers of Europe during the reign of René of Anjou.

One evening, after walking back from a restaurant to my hotel, I heard the sound of footsteps on cobblestone. I turned around and saw the pedestrian. I immediately took the photo; I wanted to capture them as they were reaching the corner of the street…

Sixku 28

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Splendor framed

perfectly

ten years ago.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

You may remember this photo from an article I published last year. I was in Syria more than a decade ago. (I can’t believe how fast time flies!)

Sixku 29

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Pansy:

tenuous web

but many lines.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

When I took this photo in 2015, my goal was to reveal the thin connections between natural elements. It is a reflection on the human condition and how it takes just a little openness of mind to connect the dots.

Sixku 30

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Worn-out sandal

along nameplates

last summer.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

“What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others.” — Pericles

NB: Before using any of my photos on social media, please contact me at [email protected].

About the Sixku

The Sixku (pronounce ‘sis-ku’) is a poetry form that I invented in 2019.

Sixku are six-word, untitled poems based on the Haiku, my favorite form. Each piece must be inspired by and contain an image. A reference to nature is encouraged. For example: season, weather, month, time of the day, etc.

Three mandatory lines:

  • Line 1 = idea 1 (one or two word(s))
  • Line 2 = idea 2 (two or three words)
  • Line 3 = twist, surprise (remaining words)

A seventh word is acceptable, only if it is an article or preposition (e.g. ‘a’, ‘the’, ‘up’, ‘down’…). Do not abuse this exception, though.

Complete sentences and punctuation are optional and the use of the past tense is allowed.

More Sixku:

----------

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

----------

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

nature poetryinspirational
18

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Beautiful, the photos and the poems. Especially love the pansy and the accompanying sixku.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Beautiful absolutely beautiful!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • This is a wonderful collection

  • Mesh Toraskar8 months ago

    You truly are an inspiration, Cendrine! Just love how creative and innovative you are. Restrain that offers boundless imagination to thrive. Utterly genius. The supporting pictures are the cherry on top! Sixku 26 and 27 are my favourites among these :)

  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    I love how these have been written, and I love how you have described the images with so few words. I like reading these.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I am so inspired by all of your forms, Cendrine! I'm excited to start trying them out, starting with the sixku! I love #26 the most. Trees are my weakness... Also, that creperie photo is stunning. Reminds me of something van Gogh would have painted. I want to go there!

  • Very well done, well organized, well written. I am impressed and inspired by you Cendrine. Outstanding!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    I love these and the idea of a sixku. Keep them coming Cendrine!

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Oh I love these ❤️, the whole package with words and photo 🤗

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    This is at my speed... Lovely work and an intriguing form!

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    These are wonderful! I'm continuously impressed with both your writing and your photography. That picture of the flower and the web is incredible!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    These were breathtaking! I can't believe you've been to Syria! I am so jealous! I want to go to Mayasaf Castle there but alas maybe not in this lifetime! Your photos are simply stunning and the sixkus accompanying them are fabulous!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great pictures and great writing!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Lovely photos and poetry to match. Well done, Cendrine. Each of your pieces reminds me that I need to spend some time with my photos again. On a side note, I hope to visit Vancouver Island one day, and I have spent a lot of time walking among the Sequoias in Northern California. It's awe-inspiring.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.