Poets logo

Scratching The Itch

There is no “just” saying no… Only those who KNOW actually know, about addiction’s matrix. Whether it be work (talking about myself here), a substance or an action, the “itch” is just not that simple…

By Josh MorganPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
2
Scratching The Itch
Photo by Andy T on Unsplash

Desires, can be the slipperiest of slopes

The line that exist between satisfaction and gluttony-

Is quite blurred

"Just one more..."

But I know what I'm looking for

The Siren's song, I can't say I haven't heard

Stirring snake oil I thought was honey

Turning top-side down, the highest of my hopes

Still, I find myself-

"Scratching the itch"

Attracted to all I can and can't have

Chasing desire like this is like chasing death himself

I know how dangerous it is to dance with the devil-

Feeding the very sin that will soon devour me

Her red dress taunts me, flaunting what's underneath

She dances around the deepest, and darkest of rabbit holes

She draws with her soles my demise

Toeing that line

Pain and pleasure travel the same nerves

What damaged roots serve-

Is a bittersweet fruit that hangs from this vine

The unruled flesh and lust of the eyes

Am I dying to live or living to die? The dice rolls

What my habits have bought me is a fate underneath

All that I can and can't have

"Scratching the itch"

I will never live free until I can die to myself

I may drown in the wine of all wishes-

And not in the slightest quench my thirst

Due to return, again and again

There's always-

"Just one more"

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.