Poets logo

Sanctuary

Abecedarian. If you are reading this on a mobile device, landscape view will retain the 26 single-line format of this poetic form.

By PK ColleranPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
28
Westyn Bay, Lake Apopka, Florida

An American bald eagle is fishing again this evening.

Bold and beautiful, she dives with such grace it brings me

clarity of mind and heart. Sorrows fade. Worries lessen.

Doubt disappears. Fear is gone, too, for a moment at least.

Every day, I return to the lake. Somehow, it's where I

find myself again. It gives me the space and the quiet to

gain a little perspective on our troubled world. The

happiness of seeing the sunset's bright array brings me

inspiration, hope, and yes, I would even say

joy. There is so much we want for our world, so much.

Knowledge alone is not enough. Something new is needed.

Luminous waters hide what I seek, something akin to

mysticism. That which is essential to life, to oneness.

Not easily found, this invisible, indescribable thing.

Only when we are quiet enough can we sense it.

Peace is a word I don't take lightly.

Quietude is good but not for personal gain.

Reciprocity means I return what I receive.

Serenity must be shared. It's the birthright of everyone.

Touching the sky as dusk falls, clouds gather in this

utterly silent moment. Then, like a windy whisper,

very quietly, almost serendipitously, a brilliantly

white heron lands on the railing. His calm demeanor is

xenial: he seems content to share this sacred space.

Yes, I remind myself, there is good in the world. I see a

zenith star's reflection on the water. It settles my soul.

Evening sky after the rains

nature poetryinspirational
28

About the Creator

PK Colleran

I love words and their power to enrich our lives.

Editor of bilingual poetry collection Landscape of the Soul by Hipólito Sánchez, published by Cafh Foundation.

Translator of Living Consciously and Words Matter, by Jorge Waxemberg.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 14 days ago

    I felt instantly uplifted reading this piece! Such gorgeous prose! It truly is stunning! BRAVO! Very well done!

  • Joe O’Connor18 days ago

    One of the Abecedarian entries I missed! I like the tranquil and settled feeling of this piece, and “ Not easily found, this invisible, indescribable thing. Only when we are quiet enough can we sense it.” is a wonderful bit of phrasing PK 👏

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Such a lovely poem

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Lovely!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Jon H. Davis3 months ago

    Your words, like brushstrokes, paint a beautiful image in the mind. Thank you!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Beautiful rhythm to this!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I was transported. It was just a soothing monologue. Quite meditative.

  • Emma Walker3 months ago

    HELLO, My name is. Mr.Pierrick Fédrigo, I live in Europe and i am a happy man today? and i told my self that any lender that rescue my family from our poor situation, i will refer any person or company that is looking for loan to him, he gave me happiness to me and my family, i was in need of a loan of $326,000.00 to start my life all over as i am a single father with 3 kids I met this honest and GOD fearing man loan lender that help me with a loan of $326,000.00USD Dollar, he is a GOD fearing man, if you are in need of loan and you will pay back the loan please contact him tell him that is Mr.Pierrick Fédrigo that refer you to him. Contact Dr. Mr. Benjamin Owen via email: reply to email [email protected]

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    A lovely example of the internal realization we can have when in Nature. Congratulations on the Top Story recognition!

  • Loved the images and overall feel of this poem

  • Deasun T. Smyth3 months ago

    Wonderful! Well done 😁👍🍁

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    This exudes a wonderfully peaceful tone. beautifully written!

  • An excellent natural take on the format and challenge. Loved this

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Absolutely stunning! I was completely enraptured. This poem has such a sense of calmness and reflection to it. Your tone perfectly reflects your poem's message. 💗

  • Test4 months ago

    .WOW! Very amazing work!!

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    We all seek something in life.

  • I feel like I’m sitting right there beside you. Beautiful imagery. It ebbs and flows like the lapping water’s edge. Thank you for a moment of peace.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is so soothing. I'm imaging it spoken with soft music in the background. Simply beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.