Poets logo

Humble Pie

You'll need a healthy serving

By PK ColleranPublished 4 months ago Updated 28 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
30
Image generated on Midjourney

Every writer since Shakespeare has to eat humble pie.

When I see this man's vision, his universal scope

Really, how's it possible to compete with this guy?

*

To borrow or not to borrow, I beseech the sky.

This, above all, to my own self be true: that's my hope!

Every writer since Shakespeare has to eat humble pie.

*

The beauty of the world. The paragon of me. Sigh!

Yes, yes. I know. Brevity is the soul of wit. Nope!

Really, how's it possible to compete with this guy?

*

What is this quintessence of dust? In words, I rely.

Alas, I'm sliding down a befuddling, slippery slope.

Every writer since Shakespeare has to eat humble pie.

*

I've suffered slings and arrows... oh to sleep, oh to die.

Highly recommend hanging from a noose made of rope.

Really, how's it possible to compete with this guy?

*

Now, my ladies, my happy gents, I bid thee goodbye.

No matter how I try, and try I must, I shan't cope.

Every writer since Shakespeare has to eat humble pie.

Really, how's it possible to compete with this guy?

Villanellehumor
30

About the Creator

PK Colleran

I love words and their power to enrich our lives.

Editor of bilingual poetry collection Landscape of the Soul by Hipólito Sánchez, published by Cafh Foundation.

Translator of Living Consciously and Words Matter, by Jorge Waxemberg.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 days ago

    Awesome Villanelle!!! Brilliantly written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top story!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh this is just awesome. I can so see why it got Top Story! It's so true - Billy did his thing and we've all been eating humble pie since, lol!

  • Humble pie just got YOU TOP STORY on vocal. 😊 Congratulations. 🎊 I really enjoy your writings. I look forward to reading more In twenty twenty four!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Beautifully penned, gorgeous tribute to greatness. I curtsy and say huzzah!!!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    A fitting tribute to the great bard and a fantastic villanelle to boot. Yep, we don't compare really. Never will. Humble pie will always be on the menu.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I have been overfed... ;)

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Well done on your T.S.! Smashing tribute. Our language is richer for his works 😁

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Congrats on the wonderful TS

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    I love how, on the surface, it feels as though this poem is about competing with Shakespeare but can really be about competing with any given writer that we are jealous of. It’s a very universal poem with a universal feeling to it. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    And this is why he is one of the greats. You don't get that title without earning it. Congratulations

  • J.P. Williamson4 months ago

    Great Villanelle!

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    True words PK. As Goethe said: thou shalt not covet the stars. Some things can only ever be reverred. ❤️

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    This was so good! Well done!

  • Excellent work

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is fabulous. I was smiling from the first line all the way through. Well done.

  • This was such a nice, amusing piece. Well done capturing the Shakespearian voice with each line.

  • What a wonderful tribute to Shakespeare! Loved your poem!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Yes! I agree… he was pure genius and would be proud of this poem. It even feels Shakespearean. Well done!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Absolutely awesome job on this, PK and an excellent subject!

  • Antoinette L Brey4 months ago

    Interesting outlook

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.