Poets logo

Pretty Sure

I could have sworn

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Pretty Sure
Photo by Lindsey Savage on Unsplash

I'm pretty sure I caught the tail end of your perfume

Even though only loneliness exists in this room

Even though I haven't caught a glimpse of you

In a long time

I could have sworn I felt your touch just once

Yes,

I could have sworn it was you

It's a touch you don't reserve for just anyone

I'll lay here thinking that you're mine

I'm pretty sure I caught the tail end of your perfume

Even though only loneliness exists in this room

Even though I haven't caught a glimpse of you

In a long time

Such a long time...

love poemsheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Oh, the longing is palpable here ❤️

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Heartwrenching!!! 💕♥️♥️

  • The yearning here was soooo intense! Such a poignant poem! I loved it!!

  • /-\ 5 |-| 3 R4 months ago

    I think this is a great image to work with. Overall this is a strong piece. FWIW, I feel it would benefit from less spelling it out. EG: Even though only loneliness exists in this room. Can you show that vs. telling me that? What makes a room lonely? Describe it in a 10 word sentence that shows me an image and I can immediately say: That feels lonely. This is really strong: "I'm pretty sure I caught the tail end of your perfume " It gives me a great visual and makes me want to follow the narrative instantly. I'm jealous of it. But for me, the rest becomes more telling and loses a bit of that zeal. This is just my POV for please take that as it is.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.