Poets logo

Ode to My Contact Lenses

Seriously, what would I be without you?

By Ariel JosephPublished 10 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
7
Ode to My Contact Lenses
Photo by Adrian Gordon on Unsplash

Oh, how lucky to be born in the modern era.

Natural selection would've taken me out centuries before.

Perfect vision may be only a chimera,

But I pop you in, some clarity restored.

You've betrayed me before, mysteriously falling out of my head,

Letting yourself be lost to me, right before a long day of work.

After all the money I spend on you, how could you be so cruel?

Or finding a surprise tear on your surface, turning my eyes bright red.

You had one job, you so often shirk.

You know I can't see a thing without you, I look like a fool.

Will you be there for me when the aliens invade?

When the apocalypse begins, and the zombies reign?

Or will you leave me sightless and afraid?

My body merely food, along with my brain?

Some things you do so well, like protect my eyes from wayward mascara.

When you show up for work, your contributions I so adore.

Although your gift is just ephemera.

You've given me the gift of sight, so your imperfections I can ignore.

humor
7

About the Creator

Ariel Joseph

I love to write pretty much everything and anything, except a profile page bio.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    As someone who cannot see without contacts or glasses, I love this poem!

  • This was a wonderful ode! I'm too chicken to use contact lenses, lol. I use glasses

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Love this

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Ms. Ariel - So, I reckon the term "Four Eyes" will never be uttered by the Youngins - another lost colloquialism. I received an email this morning that, "since only reruns from (50) years ago on T.V. we love to read Vocal stories." Such a shame people are losing their homes with this ongoing strike. I lecture "Corporations don't have hearts." Jay

  • Suze Kay10 months ago

    I think all the time about how lucky I am to live in this era of medical assistance. Like Ashley, Iā€™m too scared to actually get contact lenses, but if the apocalypse happened and I lost my glasses Iā€™d be screwed!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Love it! I'm scared of contact lenses, but I feel the same about my glasses :) Well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.