Poets logo

Not You

A 3am poem

By TheSpinstressPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Not You
Photo by mohsen ameri on Unsplash

The pain that kept me up all night; it wasn't you

I missed some guy I used to love; it wasn't you.

.

The wind that rattled at my windows shook me up

and so I wished I had that man who was not you.

.

The smile that brought the sun has gone, which fits -

it is December in my heart and he's not you.

.

I wonder if you could conjure him again, would you?

No doubt you could for someone else, not me - not you.

.

I saw the sparkle in your eyes that turned from star

to flint; I wish I loved someone who wasn't you.

By Rosie Sun on Unsplash

If you liked this poem, you might like: Love in the wrong place

Please let me know what you thought in the comments/insights, and like this poem - if you like it! :)

Mental Healthsad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
6

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is agonising.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Smooth lines and a sharp cutting message! You're poems are such gems, always lines I marvel at. The repetition with variances in the second lines of the couplets were so dynamic.

  • As time goes by, they always change. Loved your poem!

  • What a haunting poem! Those 3 a.m. poems are the best.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    This had echoes of that 10CC song. I loved it. Made me really sad though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.