Poets logo

I still have nothing to compare to your eyes

❤️

By TheSpinstressPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
32
I still have nothing to compare to your eyes
Photo by Andrey Zvyagintsev on Unsplash

Why would I tell you I love you

when I could tell you the truth?

That I have wanted you more than anything;

that you were all I thought about for months.

I dreamed of you whether I was awake or asleep

I lived with your name on my lips ready to go;

I wrote it everywhere in every alphabet I learned.

I stared at blank pages for hours, looking for things

that could stand up to comparison with your eyes.

I saw people who looked like you everywhere

because your image overlaid my vision,

blurring all faces

a filter of you.

By pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

If you liked this, you might like: Panic

Thank you for reading! Please let me know what you thought in the comments/insights, and leave a heart if you liked this poem. :)

love poems
32

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

I teach English, watch Bollywood, learn Hindi, herd cats, and don't buy new clothes. Follow me on the Spinstress for sarcasm and snacks; MovieJaadoo for Hindi film. :)

http://thespinstressblog.wordpress.com/

https://moviejaadoo.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen20 days ago

    What a beautiful poem, filled with yearning and heartfelt feelings, desires and hopefully..returned in kind. Congrats.

  • Joe O’Connor24 days ago

    I read this one second, but it fits either way, and the intense longing is easy to sense in this piece! I like the use of "filters" as a small nod to social media at the end, and how they see what they want to.

  • Great!!

  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Congratulations for top story best line I dreamed of u whether I awake or not

  • Abdul Qayyumabout a month ago

    This was really well done The imagery is quite vivid https://vocal.media/fiction/the-enchanted-forest-s-echoes

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    I mean, "I love you" pales in comparison to this appreciation. I think I'd rather have your poem, especially if it was mutual. But if not - oh, the longing!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Blurring all faces a filter of you - there incredible descriptions in your poem. Well done and congratulations on TS.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Congratulations 🎈 happily subscribed

  • Kodahabout a month ago

    Incredibly beautiful poem 💌 "I dreamed of you whether I was awake or asleep." Had to be my favourite line! 💝

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Obsession,!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Newly subscribed! This piece won me over; congratulations on Top Story!

  • A. J. Schoenfeldabout a month ago

    Very nicely written. Favorite line: "I dreamed of you whether I was awake or asleep"

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!🥳🥳

  • Anna about a month ago

    What a beautiful obsession😊

  • The Best Trendabout a month ago

    Very good!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    "I lived with your name on my lips ready to go; I wrote it everywhere in every alphabet I learned." I loved these lines the most because I remember feeling that same way. Beautiful poem!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    So much ardent longing captured beautifully in this! The last few line of overlaid image and filter descriptions were stunning! Excellent poem, Spinstress!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.