Poets logo

The Number of Creation

an acrostic

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 14 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
11
Photo Credit: Matthew Montrone, Pexels

Encircling the yard are seven geese, seven being the number of

creation. Or so they say. As they eat the grass to the nub, I

lower my blinds and feel I’ve completed something bold,

intricate, lovely. Their heads are like weird dinosaurs,

peering at traffic and lumbering on to better fields, and

still, their meal is like a meteor catastrophe and I laugh,

evoking my own rebirth to claim the outer world.

           

                

A/N: Yeah, I don't know either. A strange, random contemplation.

Acrostic
11

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    That photo, I just couldn't stop staring at it. It seemed as if like those geese were emitting a powerful aura. Your Acrostic was so beautifully written and I loved it!

  • Andrei Z.13 days ago

    This is my personal favorite of your recent eclipse acrostics, Mackenzie! Simple and l(i/o)vely. Also the photo you chose is wonderful.

  • Joe O’Connor14 days ago

    I like how grounded this is in a way Mackenzie- something everyday, but in nature rather than space or thoughts.

  • Teresa Renton14 days ago

    I ‘do’ random all the time so it all makes perfect sense lol! That feeling of the world pausing, just because you’ve stopped to notice the sound that sheets drying in wind make, or ‘Their heads are like weird dinosaurs’ (lol) is just as you described, ‘a rebirth’. You’ve been on a roll here, like a Mackenzie poetry factory 😂

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    A sensation I think, sometimes, when the world beyond ourselves seems for a moment like a wonder we belong to.

  • Diana Penn14 days ago

    I love the line, "heads are like weird dinosaurs". LOL - yes!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.