Poets logo

Life after a suicide loss

How do we carry on?

By Alexis MundyPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
2

This morning I awoke, and for a moment I forgot you were gone,

Then reality hit me and I knew my mind was playing tricks on me,

This happens often especially when I dream about you Andrew

My dreams are usually of you as a little boy playing happily

Your mischievous grin made me love you even more.

Now you are gone and every day I live the nightmare of loss

I cannot escape it no matter how hard I try

My heart breaks piece by piece, memories of you creep back

It's a never-ending cycle of pain intercepted my moments of gratitude

Having you in my life is something I will never regret.

I wish I could have told you how much I loved you, Andrew

I wish I could have been there during your darkest hours.

I am your mother I should have been able to protect you,

yet I never knew the torment you were going through

That led you to take your own life, I only wish I had known.

Now I grieve for you feeling powerless

and ravaged with guilt as only a mother can understand

How can I carry on? I ask myself this every day

But what choice do I have?

Your brothers and sisters have been through enough pain.

I have to try to get through the dark days,

Maybe my story doesn't need to end in this way

Perhaps I can help by raising awareness of suicide.

Start a support group there is so much I could do,

This way my son will live on and help others.

I am starting to feel more positive that some good can come out of this tragedy in memory of Andrew my son that I love and miss every day!!

Alexis Mundy

By raising awareness about suicide a

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Alexis Mundy

I am originally from the UK. Now living in New Zealand. My life so far has been a rollercoaster. I have children with special needs, lost my previous husband in 2008 and in 2021 my son Andrew died. Writing has and is cathartic for me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran17 days ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.