Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Honey Blood

(Honey, red, and blue food coloring makes for convincing fake blood)

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Credit: Nathalie Daux

Oh, Christ.

Let me taste the honey blood I once spilled.

Let me put lips to split wrists and suckle

From the abhorrent teet of despair.

Let me snake inside their veins,

Tongue the marrow of their bones.

~

Lucifer in Heaven, Christ in Hell

I want to feel the cold press of tile

Against my cheek and smell the smoke

Shoved against my teeth.

I want to shake like my bones are trying

To escape my skin.

.

Take me back.

I'm starving for those rollercoaster lows,

The screaming woes of an empty stomach

And dull, glassy eyes.

Take me back to the goldfish pond of rules

And the pretty way I used to spin lies.

.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Oooo, this was so dark and poignant! I loved it!

  • Test7 months ago

    your poetry is very impressive. It is clear that you have a deep understanding of the human condition, and you are able to express complex emotions in a way that is both powerful and moving.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.