Poets logo

Before Dawn

A random poem about cold thoughts.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
4
Before Dawn
Photo by Tyler Domingue on Unsplash

I stay up and dream about empty things.

Meaningless things.

Faces I'll never know,

Names I'll never speak,

Stories I will never hear,

And words I won't taste.

.

I stay up to press my fingers to the pulse

Of my loneliness.

I take its temperature at midnight

To ensure I am not getting too warm.

I am freezing.

To death.

.

That's what I am supposed to do,

Freeze

Before dawn.

I'm supposed to let the cold

Crystalize

The soft bits of me and crumple

My butterfly wings.

.

My heart beats with the slowing rhythm

Of imperfections stacked

One on top of another.

Even in the dark, I wonder

If this is the way it should be

Or if I am ruthlessly

Failing the sunrise.

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetry
4

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Whoaaaa this was poignant yet so magnificent! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.