Poets logo

Hold on My Heart

Memory's Serenade

By Judey Kalchik Published 4 months ago 1 min read
9
https://pixabay.com/users/kranich17-11197573/

Hush! hear the serenade

Whisper through leaves then cascade

As he calls for me through time

Weaving his web of rhyme.

~

Stroking me with a voice of well-touched velvet

My longing rises, body remembering our secret

I was ready for love to become corporeal

Not just a girl's dream of things ethereal.

~

In that dark room, he was a riddled enigma

And I was afraid, yearning, wary of the stigma

Following his lead through the heady new labyrinth

Spring, the breeze scenting my memories with hyacinth.

~

Now, here's this song, stirring emotion

Reminding me of days of devotion

Days of girlish dreams, longings, and love

That, one by one, I learned to let go of.

~

But, in his way, I feel he loved me

Not enough, but love has no guarantee

Still, strains of rock and words of Genesis

Reminds me of the boy and his passionate gentleness.

~~~

This was written as a response to Randy Baker's unofficial February Challenge, and contains all 7 words he gave as a prompt. Only six were required, but, as I did not do in high school, I figured I would go all the way and use all 7.

Thank you for the prompt Randy, and thank you Neil Diamond for the nudge I needed, Phil Collins for the remembered drum beat that day, and a certain Nobel Prize winner for leaving such a fond spot in my heart.

Comments welcomed

love poems
9

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Lots of confessions and lost love and remembered trysts and remembered love and, this has been a wild ride of emotions. May the boy ever be gentle, remembered so fondly.

  • But, in his way, I feel he loved me Not enough, but love has no guarantee These lines resonated so deeply with me! Loved your poem!

  • Nicely done. Corporeal would be nice.

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    I loved this cause it took me back to high school and I love the Phil Colin’s song too.

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Excellent Poem. Brings back a lot of memories. Things were so different when I was a teen. At least, that’s the way it feels LOL

  • J. Delaney-Howe4 months ago

    Love this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.