Poets logo

What We Write About

See Me

By Judey Kalchik Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
15
Photo by author

”What we write about; we are.”

I read that today in Class

By Stephanie Land.

I read her writing

And I learned more about

Who she was

Unlike many authors of the books I read

I’ve met her.

I heard her pride

And discomfort at public speaking.

-

If you are reading this

You learn more about me.

I write because the words slide across my mind

They bubble through my fingers.

I write because I need it.

Most of you will never see me face to face.

Still, I reveal myself to you.

My wanton need to share my words

To cast them as seeds and

Hope they land in fertile soil.

-

Some writing remains ignored

The forsaken and forgotten.

Some people I yearn to read them,

To learn more about who I am.

Perhaps they think there is no need.

Perhaps I share too much, too many

Words.

They support in other ways.

They don’t know the struggle

To shrug off the hurt, the script running

Behind the smile.

Did you see?

Did you read?

Don’t you want to know me?

-

I write this knowing they won’t be hurt.

They won’t know

what their inaction means to me.

They won’t know this about me.

But now?

Now you do.

————

Photo by author- thank you for the autograph!

Comments welcome.

GratitudeFree VerseFamilybook reviews
15

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    'j' - We Write about ALL Things ~ We're Good at it - and Because we 'Can' ~ 'j'

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is so beautiful and so true. When there are people in our close lives who don't get around to reading our work, sometimes it feels like they can't really know all of us. Sometimes that can feel like a bit of a blessing too, though, lol. Being able to tuck pieces of ourselves into stories, elevate them into fiction, and scatter them throughout the world can provide a feeling of safety but it can also be a little lonely. It's a strange place to be in, as a writer. Thank you for writing this piece. You've done such a beautiful job and prompted me to think about my own identity as a writer a bit more deeply. Thank you for your vulnerability, honesty, and for this gift of a poem. 💗

  • This is soooo accurate about us writers! Also, it's so cool that you've met the author and gotten her autograph as well!

  • Yes, I do, & I am better for it.

  • Heather Zieffle 4 months ago

    So true. I feel this too. Beautiful, thanks Judey!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I have learned a lot...and want to know more!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Lots to ponder!!! Superbly written!!!

  • Test4 months ago

    Really thought provoking piece. I want to be seen through words...I think but at the same time am kind of embarrassed by it in a way. Shall ponder 🤍

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    Nicely said :)

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    That was thought provoking in its truth. We do want to be seen through our writing. At first I was thinking not. Like, I never met an alien in a bar and had 10 "snot colored babies," but that piece does give a glimpse into my sometimes warped sense of humour. Yeah, I get it. We want to be seen. We want to be read.

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Beautifully put Judey. A reflection of my own feelings about writing

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Judey...the truth about the heart of every writer

  • Colt Henderson4 months ago

    This was beautiful and insightful.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    That is so cool you met in person a writer of a book. I think you are a very interesting and beautiful lady. It’s fun getting to know you through your stories and poem, little by little 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.