Poets logo

Eau-de-nil

an abecedarian poem

By Gina C.Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
21
Sketch by Author. Complimented with greenery for artistic effect.

Along the idle rows of lily-white, I lie here -

Below a canopy of cloud, and bird, and sky.

Can it be I’m only moments shy of knowing? The

Daffodils peruse my prayer and sigh.

Eau-de-nil is what I see and feel (when I) dream of you:

Filigree of bud and bloom, pale green. For

Green alludes to hopeful fields of lucky clover, a

Honey bee to chauffeur pollen to my roaming, meadowed being.

I know you're real (and just) a breath away from breathing.

Just a drop of blue and yellow: oh, please be! (In a)

Kaleidoscope of colors, I will always choose you:

Little peony, unblossomed,

My Eau-de-nil, my meant-to-be.

Nile rivers run forever, and

On unending shores of ember-onyx, I shall wait for thee.

Pastel - your tiny heart - un-lost in

Quaint and tempered aquarelle of me. Oh,

Rows of lily-white elude my worry. (I wish amid)

Stargazer castles - swaddled in all springtime reverie.

Tiny sprout of tasseled leaf and pinwheel:

Unearth potential unto wistful, earnest me.

Veiled in fragile tendrils, pea, I see you.

With tender stir, your skin against my own stems purpose: clarity. I’ll name you

Xyris - for you’re my bud and core, and I shall be the Isis of your journey:

You’re yellow, dyed with

Zaffre rarity. Reveal yourself from all my flesh, and zeal, and meadows: my Eau-de-nil, my dearest meant-t0-be.

***

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

Author’s Note: Isis of Egyptian Mythology was known as “Great Mother Isis”. Among much else, she was worshipped as the ideal mother and wife.

This is my 100th Vocal story! I know I originally said that I’d be publishing a collection of my Tiktok love poems for my 100th, but I’ve decided to save that for Valentine’s Day. ☺️

One of my Vocal goals for 2024 is to start drawing more of my own images. (I toyed with the idea of writing about this for the #200 Challenge, but it felt more authentic and fitting for me to reveal this here.) Though I’m far from a trained and talented sketch artist, I’ve enjoyed drawing since I was a little girl. Nowadays, I'm also able to get a good deal of practice creating things for my students in the Kindergarten classroom. :)

On the theme of Kindergarten, I feel vulnerable yet so honored to share the ABC’s of my heart with the Vocal Community. Thank you so much for taking this Abecedarian journey with me! 🤍 Below, I hope you'll be entertained as I embarrass myself by reading this poem into the camera. (I decided to post this poem to Youtube instead of Tiktok. I am new to Youtube and currently have zero subscribers. 🫣)

Some notes about pronunciation - if you're interested!

"Eau-de-nil" is obviously a French word which has been adopted by the English language. Its most common definition is "a pale green color" that can be used as both a noun and an adjective. However, in French, it literally means "water of the Nile".

While writing this poem, I struggled greatly with its pronunciation. The pronunciation respelling that English dictionaries display for this word is: /ˌoʊ də ˈniːl/ or "oh-de-kneel". With hope that my audience will read this poem the way I intend it to be read, this is also the pronunciation I used here and that the rhyme depends on.

Of course, different dialects will pronounce Eau-de-nil in various ways. A quick google search of this word will bring up its Oxford Languages definition and pronunciation, where it is pronounced as "oh-de-knee". The first version of my poem (which I actually like better than this one) was based on this pronunciation. However, after doing some research, I don't believe this pronunciation to be correct (in English OR in French). Therefore, I decided to alter the poem so it reads in a more universal way.

***

Thank you so much for all your support! 🥹 I'm around a little less these days, but I'm still here and am still trying to read all your wonderful work when I'm able to. 🥹

inspirationalnature poetrylove poems
21

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 months ago

    A great abecedarian which I had missed , love this

  • Ashley Shiflett4 months ago

    Oh wow. This is amazing!

  • Talia Devora4 months ago

    Wow, this poem is magnificent! Thanks for writing this!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    "you're my bud and core" ❤

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Hey there - Beautiful poetic language Gina - well done! 😊 Great video and I am also impressed by your drawing! 👏

  • Dorota4 months ago

    Nice, well done. 👍

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is so beautiful and your drawing is wonderful!!! 💗 Also, congratulations on your 100th story!! That is amazing!

  • Sandra Tena Cole4 months ago

    So sweetly evocative! 💙 x

  • Wooohooooo congratulations, my dear Red Partner on your 100th piece! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 Your poem was soooo gorgeously colourful! Your drawing is phenomenal! I'm soooo eager to see more of them and so happy to know that it's one of your goals! I've subscribed to you on YouTube! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Halden Mile4 months ago

    Eau de nil, a new word!

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Hi Gc ~ I've missed your gorgeous presentations among the snippers/with sharp scissors of late. Your creative efforts are certainly not lost with me - I too have been sketching my own headings; I'm Ai~Less - Funny: I'm a Pro Bono adjunct Law Professor. And your classroom is probably better behaved than mine. - With my Respect - 'j' in l.a. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • You had me at eau de nil, Gina. Beautiful poem. Loved getting to hear you read it as well.

  • Thavien Yliaster4 months ago

    Your poem makes me imagine a goddess making a child for herself or waiting, dreaming, for a god to be born amongst the field of flowers next to her so that they too may beget more life into this fertile home that we call earth. Goodness, the authenticity of a Gina C. poem is something to admire, and maybe be a little envious of for its sheer quality that is like no other. Others may try to imitate Your style, but I think none could ever master Yours, especially since ever one that's read, even older publishings, all show a form of continuous evolution. It's outstandingly breathtaking. Plus, Your voice is lovely. You may be an introvert, but that's a voice many a person could listen to all day. I get told I have a face for radio, but Gina Your art skills (fantastic drawing, wish I could draw like that), Poetic Potency, along with Your voice make for a triple threat package. When You add in Your beauty on top of it all it's almost as if I can already hear the wings of crowds flocking to witness Your work. This is a "bra-" with a capital "VO" from me.

  • Catherine Dorian4 months ago

    Congratulations on your 100th story, Gina! And I didn't know that you teach Kindergarten. Cheers from a fellow teacher! This was also exquisite. A kaleidoscope of colors itself.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    The Nile, the French word, Gina C , your Abecedarian poem is sensational. Your art work, your reading, this is spectacular!!! Congratulations on your 100th. Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Congratulations on your hundredth story, Wonderful worda and no doubt a Top Story

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    gorgeous work as usual! Congrats on your 100th piece! Your artwork is stunning as well! Well done Gina! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Firstly, congratulations on reaching 100 pieces. Secondly, this is absolutely gorgeous. Loved your sketch and the reading as well. You are so very talented, my friend. Well done

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    This was incredibly lovely and a beautiful showcase of your talent! What a joy to float through this journey of love and understanding on a sigh. Gorgeous!! And of course I'm so happy to finally see the artwork. You just ooze creative :) Love it!

  • Test4 months ago

    This poem beautifully explores the theme of love and nature through the lens of an abecedarian form. The choice of "Eau-de-nil," meaning "water of the Nile" in French, adds a layer of depth and symbolism. Congratulations on your 100th Vocal story, and best wishes on your goal to incorporate more of your own drawings into your work!🙌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.