Poets logo

Doghouse

I've got Regrets

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Doghouse
Photo by David Vázquez on Unsplash

It's okay to want some breathing room

Isn't that what you asked me to give you?

I've got regrets

Breathing down my neck,

and it hurts me each time I think of you

I'm setting up camp in this doghouse

You don't understand how easy it is for the wrong words to come out

Maybe someday I'll tie up my mouth

Maybe someday I'll tie up my mouth

It's okay to take some time to find you

Confidence is what I've always tried to give to you

Not seen you in the flesh,

but I can still feel your head on my chest,

and it's worth it just to think of you

I'm setting up camp in this doghouse

You don't understand how easy it is for the wrong words to come out

Maybe someday I'll tie up my mouth

Maybe someday I'll tie up my mouth

heartbreaklove poems
8

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga3 months ago

    Frankie Martinelli, you've captured the human experience of introspection and desire for change so masterfully in your poetry. I'm moved by your raw honesty and the lyrical way you negotiate the complexity of regret and longing.

  • This was so intense and I kinda rapped it to my own tune! It was fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.