Poets logo

Devil's Ivy

Ode to Epipremnum aureum - A Common Houseplant

By Daniela AlejandraPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Lydia Mailloux on Unsplash

Tantalizing tendrils of soft evergreen

Bursting forth in a sparkle of dancing dewdrops

Reaching towards the sky to feast upon the light

Of the glorious golden dawn

Tenderly, I moisten the fertile soil

With an elixir of hopes, dreams, and gratitude

For when I stand in awe

Of the jeweled amethyst dusk

Mortal musings vine through the mind

Anemoia grips the wistful heart

Suddenly struck by the thought

Of when I am laid to rest

Within Gaia’s nest

From my body you will feed

To continue the cyclical celebration

Of our eternal entwined existence

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Daniela Alejandra

Life's a journey and I don't have map.

I long to create worlds like the ones I would read about under the blankets late at night.

Magical realism.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Gosh this was so breathtakingly beautiful! Loved your poem so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.