Poets logo

Corpse Fingers

With blue-grey nails like twilight

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Corpse Fingers
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

Corpse fingers wrap around my throat with the thought

Of what could have been...

Of what was.

It was there on my fingertips,

There against my hand, warm and swollen with life,

Beating against my palm with the sort of enthusiasm

Saved for blinding red sunsets and once-a-century storms.

It's gone.

.

Should I miss the empty thought of what if's?

Should I miss the shadows gathering around my ankles,

Collecting dust on my eyelashes?

Maybe I should have missed it

But I can only grin in sheer amazement at the hole in my chest,

The stellar nursery giving birth

To something that tastes a little like death.

.

surreal poetrysad poetry
2

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    But I can only grin in sheer amazement at the hole in my chest, The stellar nursery giving birth To something that tastes a little like death. These lines resonated so deeply with me! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.