Poets logo

Christmas poem by Matthew

Poem. Written in 2011 by my son Matthew aged 11

By Hazel Rymell Published 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Christmas poem by Matthew
Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

Twas the night before Christmas

and all in the house,

just one creature was staring,

and it wasn’t a mouse.

#

It was me,

and I was sat up in bed,

I couldn’t get to sleep,

with all the thoughts in my head.

#

Would Santa be coming?

Would he be alright?

Would he have a safe journey?

Would the presents be right?

#

I looked out the window,

and what I saw.

Was it real?

I just wasn’t sure.

#

It was a sleigh,

in the dark sky.

It was rocking,

And it was ever so high.

#

Sat in the sleigh was a man,

whose beard was white and clear.

The sleigh was being pulled,

by a flock of reindeer.

#

The sleigh came lower,

and onto the roof.

If Santa was real,

this would be proof.

#

I ran down stairs,

and looked by the living room door.

There he was,

putting gifts on the floor.

#

And then he said

“Ho ho ho,

have a nice Christmas!”

And off I go.

#

He sped up the chimney,

in a dash,

he jumped on his sleigh,

and was gone in a flash

#

I ran upstairs,

and got into bed.

I still got to sleep,

despite all the thoughts in my head. 

This poem was written in 2011 by Matthew Rymell then just aged 11.

childrens poetry
3

About the Creator

Hazel Rymell

..Suddenly I crash back down to earth with a big almighty bump!

...when not in a dolly daydream, creative me is at home in the UK doing the normal everyday mundane jobs, that seem to go on forever...until the daydreaming kicks in again...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.