Poets logo

Booming Consuming

I just want a house, man.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4
Booming Consuming
Photo by John Moeses Bauan on Unsplash

Always I dreamt of a better world but the

Boomer

Consumers

Destroyed the little bit of

Ecstasy left in the dream of a better tomorrow.

"Figure it out" by abandoning my

Gross consumerism of little coffees and toast in favor of

Hard work, work slave, slave labor.

I don't want to.

Justification of abuse doesn't make the dead any less

Killed by your hand.

Let me sleep on the benches since you've taken

My mattress, my shelter, my food, and my hope.

No, I don't dream of soaring to great heights now but of

Opening a door to a place I call my own and hearing

Politicians care about my life and my strife, not playing a game of

Quieting me and my

Riotous behavior.

Silence meets my future and it weeps for me more

Than the ones who share my blood.

Uprisings would do no good when the

Victors are predetermined by these

War-torn generations laughing at the suffering of

Xennials, millennials, Gen Z'ers and more.

Your hungry wrath leaves food for none and has turned the world into a

Zone of dreamless death.

sad poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetry
4

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Woa! This is so similar to the one I just wrote. I think we’re burdened for similar things. This was superb! ❤️

  • John K4 months ago

    The world is such an angry,desperate place now, and this really describes the divide between those who got while the getting was good, and those who are trying to make ends meet.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.