Poets logo

The King's Memory

And the subjects who should have remembered him.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
The King's Memory
Photo by Nadine Shaabana on Unsplash

They don’t remember me the way I remember them.

I leech the details from the memories, suck them dry.

A face, a name, the way my arms can be bent like a doll.

The laughter at a joke, the wrinkles beside their eyes.

Nothing substantial kept.

Everything of substance swallowed.

.

They don't remember me the way I remember them.

Favorite colors: golden egg yolks and purple sunsets.

My eye color is forgotten like the first snow in October...

But I know it matches the color of your favorite sweater.

The value of my words shrivel with time.

But there are whole worlds conceived from yours.

.

There is an anomaly in the universe,

Something of a mystical field of warping vision and memory

That clings to me like a cursed veil.

It hovers in front of my face, holographic sheen twisting

Until there is nothing left to remember of me.

Until I am a mutilated, passed-around story.

.

I cry and scream and bang useless fists against the veil.

It slips out as toothy smiles

And acquiescing words

That paint me as some sort of pacifistic peddler of dreams

When I am a cruel king

With lives wound aroung my fingers like jewels.

.

Shall I tug on the strands?

Toss the rings into a dark case and forget them

As they have misplaced the memories of me?

No because the secrets that makes their feet flee or freeze or fight

Belong to me and my memory.

I am the king of their miseries, the queen of their terror.

And still, they cannot be bothered to remember me.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is so beautifully written. I had to pause for a minute to re-read and soak up, "Favorite colors: golden egg yolks and purple sunsets." Gorgeous and poignant.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This brought such nostalgia, words do matter when you want to convey your message. you are so great at it.

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Oof why did I feel this to my utter core. You have such a way with words. Well done 👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.