Poets logo

Because I'm Your Mother

An inverse poem

By Rebecca MortonPublished 3 months ago Updated 16 days ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Inverse Challenge
11
Because I'm Your Mother
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

DIRECTIONS FOR READING: First, read the poem top to bottom. Then, read the poem from bottom to top, for my true idea of motherhood:

Because I'm your mother

Be afraid to disappoint me

Never

Laugh out loud at the library

Walk up the playground slide

Color outside the lines, and

I'll love you always

My little one

Mental Healthsocial commentaryFamily
11

About the Creator

Rebecca Morton

An older Gen X-er, my childhood was surrounded by theatre people. My adulthood has been surrounded by children, first my students, then my own, and now more students! You can also find me on Medium here: https://medium.com/@becklesjm

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.28 days ago

    Awesome story I like it congratulations 🎉🎉

  • Joe O’Connorabout a month ago

    I like the sharp use of “Never” on its own Rebecca, and it’s used as a pivot to flip the meaning. Shorter but impactful!

  • Jennifer David2 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful! Life was made to live authentically, with color, and creatively; thank you for reminding us that! This was short, sweet, and to the point. And most importantly it reminds me of my own mother :)

  • Donna Renee3 months ago

    This is so sweet!!! Congratulations!! ❤️

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    This is so beautiful- all the more striking for its brevity, such a poignant reflection of motherly love <3 Congratulations on the recognition!!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Awesome!!! Congratulations on the runner-up win!!!

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Congrats! Such a sweet sentiment in reverse

  • Christy Munson3 months ago

    Congratulations on your placement in this Challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.