Poets logo

Absence and Presence

Two sides of the same coin

By TestPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Absence and Presence
Photo by Rob Simmons on Unsplash

Possessiveness is asking for trouble

But when you are gone, bleakness bares itself fully in my face

Alone, but I also feel at ease with my sorrows

Understanding tragedy when nothing is happening

My heart murmurs reassuring whispers to my abandoned soul

Loneliness has never felt so right

Then you appear again and everything turns radiant again

Your shimmer reflects back to me and I can feel the light

I guess this is my life now

A bit of shadowy gloom and a bit of joyful jubilation

If only I could experience both with equanimity

They both massage my heart strings

Each note rippling either in a bourdon hum or a lively crescendo

With or without you,

with or without me

The music still plays on

The sounds of love and the absence of your presence harmonizes like a synchronized symphony -

a melancholic melody for the meek romantics

I have no choice but to pay attention

As all that I can do and all that I think of,

is because of you

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.