Poets logo

A Year in Review

Ask me in December, Babs' unofficial Challenge

By CatsidhePublished 18 days ago 1 min read
6
A Year in Review
Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

January is cold and unforgiving,

Taking you from me.

February is just as frigid,

I've never been so lonely.

March brings early signs of spring,

Nothing in me wants to sing.

April's showers feel like home,

A world awash in sympathy.

May's flowers hurt my soul,

The mother you'll never be.

June is the cruelest joke of all,

Our fifth anniversary.

July's heat melts my tears,

Falling endlessly.

August, your birthday nears,

Releasing all the dread in me.

September is the birthday month,

I stay inside all day.

October I can barely function,

They lock me in to stay.

November, I am medicated,

To take the pain away.

December hurts that much more,

The quintessential holiday,

The end of the first year done,

The cycle now renews.

sad poetryElegy
6

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

What can I say about myself?

A mystery wrapped in an enigma wrapped in a walking coffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • G. A. Botero18 days ago

    So good. I love and relate to these line so much. 'November, I am medicated, To take the pain away. December hurts that much more, The quintessential holiday'

  • This was so heartbreaking. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Oh, yikes, the sadness of this!

  • I love March because of the early signs of spring.

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Melancholy!!! Superbly written and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.