Poets logo

A Call to Witness

Meaning in life.

By Rachael MacDonaldPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
21
A Call to Witness
Photo by Pascal Meier on Unsplash

What if I told you-

you are the witness to my life.

.

Would I be speaking selfishly?

.

Bringing to life,

Humanities resolution

To loneliness strife.

.

Would your soul feel my longing?

.

To bear witness in compassion,

All that will matter

A light in multitude refraction.

.

Would you know it to be true?

.

that incendiary spark,

casting off its' hook of fire

calling like to like.

.

Could I fabricate importance?

.

Turning it to deep affection,

Down the river of existence

I crave your attention.

.

I call you to testify.

.

For shall I again have no witness,

I have little cause but to doubt

.

The ashes of my being-

.

will disperse unbound.

slam poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetrylove poemsart
21

About the Creator

Rachael MacDonald

Avid Reader, Sometimes Poet, Occasional Writer, and searcher of truths often lost in the breaths between candy-coated lies.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Forspiya25 days ago

    People nowadays are really stressed so this is all for you https://vocal.media/poets/wings-of-resilience-a-journey-through-adversity

  • ROCK 26 days ago

    Congratulations on your Top story!

  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Thank you everyone. <3

  • angela hepworth29 days ago

    Gorgeous piece! Emotional and heavy.

  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    I appreciate the weightiness and the introspection this piece brings me. Rich with emotion and thought. I enjoyed every word. Congratulations on Top Story! If I may, allow me to bring to your attention a typo: its'

  • it is very honest and extremely moving.

  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    congratulations on TS. this was truly a wonderful display of emotions.

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Congratulations on top story amazing well structured powerful combination of words

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    Very powerful poem! Great job! Congrats on the Top Story :)

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    So many great lines in this. Love the fire and the honesty, Rachael!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.