Motivation logo

Embracing Solitude

Finding Joy in My Own Company

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
Embracing Solitude
Photo by Carli Jeen on Unsplash

Day 69/366 of writing in 2024.

Loving my own company has become somewhat of a specialty for me. I have mastered the art of solitude, the skill of being my own best friend. Some might call me a hermit, but I prefer the term "self-sufficient socialite."

I can spend entire days without speaking to another soul, and I wouldn't have it any other way. I have my own routines, my own hobbies, my own thoughts to keep me company. Who needs friends when you've got yourself, right? That doesn’t mean I don’t have friends. I just truly value alone time. Creating time. Discovering new music time.

I find it odd when clients of mine tell me about how uncomfortable they are being alone. How they won’t go do things that they’ve wanted to do forever without someone joining them. It saddens me sometimes how many people won’t pursue their passions or venture to restaurants if they don’t have a friend or companion going with them. How did so many people become so dependent on needing someone to do everything with them?

I love being alone.

In the mornings, I wake up to the gentle rays of sunlight streaming through my bedroom window. I stretch and take a deep breath, grateful for the peace and quiet that surrounds me. I make my way to the kitchen, where I prepare my coffee. Coffee is one of my favorite times because I mostly get inspiration for writing pieces as I sip on it. Uninterrupted by noise or chatter, my creativity flows through me like a wellspring.

After breakfast, I dive into my work. Whether it's writing, painting, or working with clients, I relish in the freedom and creativity that comes with being alone. There are no distractions, no interruptions. Just me and my passion, flowing effortlessly together.

When it's time for a break, I step outside into the fresh air. I take leisurely walks through the city, listening my favorite music

or audio books. I find solace in nature, finding beauty in the simplest of things. The sound of a babbling brook, the sight of colorful flowers blooming, the feeling of the wind against my skin - these are the moments that fill my heart with joy.

In the evenings, between clients I map out painting ideas or workout. I immerse myself in the melodies of my favorite music, allowing the notes to wash over me and evoke a myriad of emotions. Sometimes, I simply sit in silence, reflecting on the day and appreciating the stillness that surrounds me.

Sure, there are moments when I crave human interaction, but I find ways to fulfill that need without compromising my precious alone time. I have my favorite barista at the coffee I have my certain friends who send memes back and forth to me all day long. Most of these friends are creatives who love vibing alone too. These fleeting connections are enough to satisfy my social cravings without overwhelming me.

Loving my own company has taught me the value of self-reliance and independence. I don't rely on others for validation or approval. I know who I am, and I am perfectly content with that.

So, if you ever find me holed up in my cozy little space, lost in my own thoughts, don't feel sorry for me. I am living my best life, surrounded by the best company I could ever ask for - myself, my art, and the rest of my creative endeavors.

I wish people could learn the value of their own company, I wish more could learn to love what they can discover in solitude.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.