Longevity logo

My hemorrhoidal crisis

Now I know what hemorrhoids feel like!

By thepavsalfordPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

Christmas and New Year with hemorrhoids

People get sick at the most inconvenient times.

Nobody in his or her right mind wants to get sick, more so during a holiday season, such as Christmas and New Year.

Unfortunately, I suffered an acute hemorrhoidal crisis on Christmas Eve, and I struggled to drive to the local public hospital where I was treated in the emergency room.

I spent the night at the hospital, with medical staff keeping an eye on me, in case I suffered any complications.

Hemorrhoids or something else?

The blood that I noticed on the toilet paper after having a poo made me very concerned.

I had noticed some blood a few times in the past, too, but I thought it was nothing serious, since bleeding was hardly noticeable, and I attributed it to some spicy food that I might have eaten.

This time, however, the bleeding was heavier, and I had to use quite a few toilet tissues to clean myself up down there.

That was when the suspicion that I had hemorrhoids crossed my mind.

What if it was something more serious, such as a perianal abscess or fistula, or even colon cancer though?

Treatment of hemorrhoids at the hospital

My doubt and ignorance about the actual cause of my rectal bleeding made me urge to the emergency room of the local hospital.

If it was only hemorrhoids, they could go away themselves, and healing would be assisted by medication, otherwise I would have to undergo a procedure called thrombectomy, or even a surgical operation, if the problem became worse.

After the surgeon visually inspected my anus, he also put his finger inside to make sure that it was hemorrhoids, and not something else.

I gave a urine sample and had my blood tested, so that doctors could identify the cause of bleeding more precisely, and determine the severity of my case.

Treatment of hemorrhoids at home

After receiving treatment in the emergency room, I was given instructions and a prescription with medication to use at home.

More precisely, I had to drink plenty of water to keep myself properly hydrated.

In terms of the drugs prescribed to me, I had to take Daflon, according to the following dosage: 6 capsules per day for 5 days, then 4 capsules per day for another 5 days, and finally, 2 capsules per day for the last 30 days.

I reckon that doctors believed that my condition would improve, my hemorrhoids would be reduced and be no more swollen, and the symptoms would subside by then, so I wouldn't need to undergo a surgical procedure, whether minor or major.

Additionally, I had to apply Betadine on the prolapsed hemorrhoid after each bowel movement (poo), and a sterilized gauze with xylocaine gel on top of that.

Unable to work because of hemorrhoids

In addition to the discomfort that I experienced due to my hemorrhoids problem, I was literally unable to work.

Working as a translator and a writer involves regularly working long hours while seated on a chair.

Since I couldn't literally sit, I couldn't do any work.

Not to mention that leading a heavily sedentary lifestyle again in the future would result in my hemorrhoids coming back.

Exercise, weight control, and hemorrhoids

Although I am satisfied with the treatment received from my attending physicians overall, I would like to point out that they should have placed a stronger emphasis on the role of exercise and weight control on addressing the problem of hemorrhoids, as a permanent, long-term solution, compared to drugs.

After searching online myself, I found out something that I had already suspected.

Getting some sort of mild, regular aerobic exercise, such as walking, can help a lot in dealing with constipation, which is a major cause of hemorrhoids; it can also help in having hemorrhoids healed faster.

Last but not least, exercise assists in maintaining a healthy weight, as opposed to having a big belly that applies pressure to internal organs, which can cause hemorrhoids, as a result.

Further reading:

Be carefull!!! Hemorrhoid can burst if becomes thrombosed.

Hemorrhoids. Usually just annoying. But they could be worse.

How long do hemorrhoids last?

Hemorrhoids Treatment & Management

Management and Treatment of External Hemorrhoidal Thrombosis

Treatment of hemorrhoids: A coloproctologist’s view

self carelifestylehealthfitnessfact or fictionbodyadvice
Like

About the Creator

thepavsalford

Hi,

I have written articles for various websites, such as Helium, Hubpages, Medium, and many more.

Currently, I work as a translator. I have studied Tourism Management at college.

See you around on Vocal Media!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.