Longevity logo

Do You Love Your Job?

Do what you love and love what you do

By Bridget VaughnPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Do You Love Your Job?
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

We spend one-third of our lives working. So, it makes good sense to establish a fulfilling career. To do that, it is important to understand what matters to you, individually. Maybe it’s money, flexibility, title, growth potential, being of service, or a million other things. The point is to do some self-study and understand your personal goals. Then land a job that aligns with the way you want your life.

I currently have two jobs. I work outside the home as a yoga teacher at several local studios. And I also work from home as a freelance content writer. These two jobs suit me perfectly, as I am able to entertain my passions, utilize my skills, serve others, while being afforded the flexibility I need as a single parent.

I never wanted just a “job”; a mindless, pointless, means-to-an-end, 9–5 job. I feel my spirit dying just thinking about that. We are all put here on this planet for a reason. We all possess unique skills and personality qualities that can be useful. We just have to figure out how and where we can use them. What need can we fill? Who can we serve?

Yoga is my passion, as it has personally done wonders for me in body, mind, and spirit. I love everything about it- the breathwork, asanas, meditation, philosophy; I just love it. So, yoga teacher training made sense for me, as I genuinely wanted to learn more about it. And because it helped me so much, I was excited to share yoga with others.

I currently teach ten classes per week at four local studios, and I also teach private clients. I love the people who come to yoga! They are some of the best people! We have such interesting conversations. Everyone comes to yoga to work on themselves, but we also find a wonderfully kind and welcoming community. I truly believe we are making the world a better place. I love it.

When I am not teaching yoga, I am performing freelance work as a content writer. I like the flexibility to work from home and make my own hours. This works well, especially if my child has a day off of school or comes home sick. I am able to be available for her and still work, which is a huge relief.

I have always loved to read and write. I excelled in language arts programs throughout school. I used to dream of being an author. And then life happened. But, as with the way life works in all its mystery, the dream came back around when I was chatting with a yoga student one day after class about her freelance writing career. She told me she had more than enough work. That conversation got me thinking and soon after I started writing.

I prefer to write about topics that are close to my heart. Yoga, mental health, parenting, and day-to-day musings about life. I’ve taken off-niche jobs, but it was a bit more challenging and difficult to find the right voice.

I feel like we do a better job when we do something that we genuinely care about. Whether it be teaching a student a yoga posture or writing an article to help someone suffering from PTSD; I feel I am making a difference. And that feeling alone is worth its weight in gold!

When we are invested intellectually and emotionally, we show up differently than when we’re just trying to kill the clock.

To discover the right career path for you, ask yourself these 6 questions:

1. Who are you? -Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Creative, intellectual, mechanical?

2. What are you good at? -Do you excel at writing, math, or art? Are you a great speaker? Good with your hands? Work with your strengths!

3. What are you interested in? -Do you love science? Cooking? Cars? History? Consider some things you truly enjoy.

4. How can you serve others? -What need can you serve to fill for others in your community? How can you turn what you love to do into something people need and will pay for?

5. What skills can you share? -Do you have a college or technical school degree? Are you a great craftsman? Are you bilingual?

6. What kind of lifestyle serves you? -Do you want to travel, or do you need to be home for your family? Do you need a certain amount of money to feel fulfilled? Consider the lifestyle you need and want when choosing a career move.

Do some soul searching, factor in all of your answers to the self-inquiry, and see what you can come up with! There are so many options out there. One need not feel stuck in a dead-end job that you hate. You have the power to create a meaningful and fulfilling life by choosing the career path that is right for you!

I hope this article has provided some room for inquiry. It is never too late to start over. It is your life. You are the captain of your ship. We all have to work. You may as well do a job that you enjoy. You’ll do a better job and find greater overall life satisfaction.

“Do what you love and love what you do, and you’ll never work a day in your life.”

advice
Like

About the Creator

Bridget Vaughn

Bridget Vaughn is a Freelance Writer and a Yoga Teacher with a passion for creating meaningful heartfelt content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.