Humor logo

Harlequinade

Heather Hubler's Write Me A Letter Challenge

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
144
Photo by Davner Ribeiro on Pexels https://www.pexels.com/photo/expressive-woman-holding-packs-of-assorted-chips-in-market-and-shouting-4574404/

Dear Sweet Looney Partner,

With Halloween around the corner, you would expect a spooky story from me. Let me surprise you with a funny story instead!

Heads up, please don’t read this while drinking anything. I’m not responsible if you shoot fluid out of your nose or mouth.

Let me take you back to when I was four years old. My parents brought me to the airport because someone was going somewhere or maybe someone was arriving from somewhere. Don’t know, don’t care.

My parents were busy talking to the other adults, whoever they were. I was left unsupervised but I was too afraid to leave my parents’ side, so I let my eyes wander.

They wandered far and wide until they landed on a very cute boy. He seemed to be around my age.

He held a packet of potato chips in his hand. I was mesmerized watching him stylishly bring one chip after another to his mouth with his other hand.

I surveyed the adults around him. They too were engaged in conversation. All I needed to know was that he was unsupervised as well. I gave my parents one last look before leaving their side.

I was careful not to make any sudden movement to prevent the boy from getting scared of me and I didn’t want my parents to know that I was sneaking away.

Finally, I was right in front of him. He stopped eating and smiled at me. I smiled back at him. My smile then evolved into a grin and he followed suit.

I slowly brought my right hand to his left cheek and caressed it. He just stood there rigid and wide-eyed, confused at what was going on.

I caressed his cheek a little while longer. I kept watching his eyes, bidding my time and it finally came when he closed his eyes a little too long before opening them up again.

SMACK!

That fool almost fell as an aftermath of my slap. I then pried the packet of potato chips out of his hands and bolted.

I had a head start because it took him a few seconds to realize what had happened before he started chasing me while crying loudly.

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha, what a loser!

His howls alerted all the adults around us because this boy was LOUD! See, this was the flaw in my plan. My undoing. I should have threatened him to keep quiet or lured him somewhere isolated.

But I shouldn’t be too hard on myself. I was just four and didn’t have much experience in scheming.

Oh yes, back to the story. His parents were chasing him and mine were chasing me in the middle of a busy airport. Finally, my parents caught me and snatched the potato chips out of my hands.

The boy’s parents were trying to calm him down but to no avail. He only stopped when he got back his potato chips.

My parents then apologized to him and his parents and made me do it too. I know, the audacity!

Now you’re probably wondering what happened to me after that. Nothing much at the airport but after we got back home, I got spanked so hard!

No worries, it didn’t stop me from committing other mischievous deeds but that’s a story for another letter. I know you’ve been going through a tough time and I hope my story made you smile.

Sincerely,

The-Boy-Slapping-and-Potato-Chip-Stealing Thief

~~~~~

Author’s Notes:

Yes, this was based on true events! 🤣 This was written for
Heather Hubler’s Write Me A Letter Challenge. Surprisingly, as per the rules, I actually used all 26 letters of the alphabet!

__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 💖 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

LaughterSatiricalSatireSarcasmJokesIronyHilariousGeneralFunnyFamilyComedyWritingComedicTiming
144

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (113)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writerabout a month ago

    Read this AGAIN and am grinning 😁😁😁

  • What a hilarious and entertaining story! Love the mischief and spontaneity of childhood.

  • Richard Weber3 months ago

    So. you are destined to be the CEO of a potato chip manufacture. Judging by this story, you will use whatever means possible to crush your competitors. I will purchase your chips, not from loyalty, but fear. LOL

  • Ha Le Sa3 months ago

    Well written. Good job!

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Love reading something with a bit of laughter and antics in it! Especially those of a child:). Hard luck not keeping the chips!

  • Sophia Sym4 months ago

    I hope you managed to get a few of the crisps before they were returned to your victim! Great story.

  • Serenitee4 months ago

    Twist and turns, this was great to read!

  • Sarah Danaher4 months ago

    Very cute and you were an interesting child. I also stole my sister's cookie and made her cry. congrats on top story

  • Breezy4 months ago

    Your 4-year-old self had some serious pluck! 😄 Congrats that this was chosen as a top story in October!

  • Staringale4 months ago

    I must admit the way you said that you stopped and stared at the boy and even went as far as to caress his face, I thought it was as if you have your first crush but reading the next line immediately gave it a new twist. I say brilliantly done. So did this mischievous gene disappear or is it still present now?

  • The Dani Writer4 months ago

    Confession: I've been ducking so many horror/blood & gore stories that I know are your specialty that I somehow missed this one. Quite bummed because it's sooo funny and such a hoot! Wondering whether I can finagle something to 'bleep' whenever you write humour cuz this story is hilarious 🤣

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    🖤

  • Peter Kent4 months ago

    HA! Good for you for starting so young. I hope it has meant many interesting stories to follow. Sounds like we'd have had fun together (becasue me too).

  • Kathy J Anderson5 months ago

    4 year olds are crazy, I remember it somewhat but don't actually remember much about my childhood. Good writing.

  • Amelia Moore5 months ago

    this was awesome!! terrifying but awesome haha. super strong piece. :) congrats on all your top stories!

  • Absolutely Your stories are priceless

  • Hilarious!

  • Isabella Rose5 months ago

    LOL. Well, that's one way to get a cute boy's attention. I bet he will never forget her. He is now haunted whenever he opens a bag of chips. I love it!

  • Patricia Ibela5 months ago

    This left me laughing 😂😂at the airport.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Oh you wicked 😅😅😅😅

  • Just Daniel5 months ago

    Brillant storytelling! When we're kids, we just do and say the darnest things don't we ^^

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Great story!

  • Emmanuel Omokhoa6 months ago

    nice piece love it.

  • Healty Life6 months ago

    his is one piece that made my day today.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.