Humans logo

Unconditional Love

Complacency No More

By Kaylon ForsythPublished 23 days ago 3 min read
1

I have noticed a very disturbing trend as of late, and that is that complacency is becoming a systemic problem, not just in the world at large, but in my personal experience, in the work place. Having a profession is not simply about making money in that profession to further your financial goals, while this is of course a part of having a profession, yet, when we are children, and we are asked what we want to be when we grow up, our answers were given with purity of heart, in regards to wanting to go into a field for the purpose of actually making a positive impact on this world.

I have found through my journey in this life thus far, that in order to truly find the intrinsic sense of purpose, that gives the drive to ensure you are doing your job, not only as it was intended, but also in a way that helps those with which you work, and those which your work may service, or help, whether that be in the medical field, which in my opinion is a very high calling, that should never be taken lightly, but in reference to any profession.

It does not matter what you do in this life, in regards to work, it comes down to one essential bottom line, and that is that we are working in these industries with an end goal of helping people in some way. It is a very unfortunate thing when people become so lost in the pursuit of money, that they allow their moral, and ethical fortitude to suffer, and take a back seat to the amount of money that can be made, instead of focusing on the number of people that may benefit from your work, whatever that may be.

Life I have found is about forming connections with people, that go beyond work relationships, and even friendships, it goes deeper than that when we choose to act with integrity, and moral and ethical purpose, it becomes a spiritual endeavor. I had a therapist years ago, which I desperately needed at the time, but after a few sessions, I came to the realization that this therapist was not fully invested in what he was doing, he did not seem to be invested in my healing, so I requested a different therapist, and that was a very good decision. The second therapist I had, had similar experiences with corruption effecting people, with which he worked in his previous profession, which spurred him in the direction of becoming a therapist, and he is by far the best therapist which I have ever seen.

I was given constructive feedback, advice, coping mechanism, and tools to further my journey of healing. I successfully completed a two year therapy program, and that led to me becoming fully capable of healing through these learned methods, which led me to discover a multitude of information which has not only helped me to heal, but has also enhanced my capabilities in being able to help others who are going through similar trials to the ones which I had faced in my past, to heal as well.

When we choose to take the initiative, not just in our own healing, but in taking control of our lives, to better ourselves, in ways, that other people are able to gain inspiration from. I have been told now by many people that I am a very good example for those for which I care, and was very happy to hear that my intentional pursuits into my own healing, had given me the tools to help others to heal as well, not just through my words, and my actions, but through my over all example.

It is paramount especially in this day and age, that we always put our best foot forward, and do our best to be the best example for those which are in our lives. When someone comes up to you and thanks you for being a positive influence on them, it is incredibly rewarding, and it brings with it a sense of true fulfillment which money can never bring.

The pursuit of happiness is not found in money, it is found in making a lasting difference in the lives of those you care about, which in my opinion, should be everyone you come across.

Brightest Blessings

advice
1

About the Creator

Kaylon Forsyth

I lost my wife back in 2019 and I started this as an outlet for my emotional expression in regards to the pain from the loss, it has helped me substantially since that time, and I have put great effort into all of my efforts since then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.