Horror logo

Disturbia

What's the worse that could happen when you trust the wrong person?

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2023
182
Photo by Mariana Montrazi on Pexels https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-with-eyes-closed-reflecting-in-wet-mirror-6757341/

“The police are waaaaatching youuuuu…This is a two-way mirrorrrrrrr…”

The only other person in this room with me was my reflection. Did she just speak to me?

I frantically looked around and noticed the pen and paper in front of me. Who put it on the table? Was it already here when they brought me in?

Wait, why am I even here? I remember being handcuffed. But why? Did I do something? Where is Humpty Dumpty?

I looked at my reflection again. She was writing on the paper. I bet she was trying to frame me!

So, I pulled the paper towards me, determined to prove my innocence to the police.

Dear Police,

I think I’m losing my mind. My reflection is talking to me and I know she’s trying to frame me. She just wants to make me look bad.

I’m not bad! I swear, I’m not! I’ll tell you what happened today. Harissa called me early in the morning to ask if I could watch over her kid while she ran some errands.

I was bummed out at that request because Humpty Dumpty and I had plans to lie on the grass and count the suns.

I suggested she ask her neighbours first because I’m not her neighbour anymore but she said she doesn’t trust them the way she trusts me.

I was backed into a corner and had no choice but to accept to babysit. She dropped off little Tygan not long after and flew off with her Prince Charming into the sky on Pegasus.

Tygan was a nice little boy. I really liked him and enjoyed playing with him and his toys. The only thing that got on my nerves was that he kept complaining it was too cold.

I couldn’t increase the temperature of my air-conditioner. That’s absurd! So I did the only sensible thing to do. I gave him some sweaters to put on.

Then I put him in the oven. Too bad I didn’t preheat it. I went back to playing with his toys while I waited for him to heat up.

Tygan was a good boy. He stayed put in the oven and didn’t make a sound. After forty-five minutes, I checked to see if he was done.

He wasn’t! I forgot to turn the oven on! Silly me! I took him out and asked if he was still cold. He said the sweaters helped warm him up but now he was hungry.

Oh, poor little thing! Harissa had been starving him! No wonder he is so tiny compared to me!

I gave him some milk and cookies. I was perplexed when he said the milk was chunky and tasted sour. I’ve no idea what kind of milk Harissa had been giving this poor child.

After some time, he started crying because his tummy ached. Lucky for him, I knew just the thing to do.

I emptied all the shoeboxes that I owned. No wait, I think I cut Tygan up before emptying my shoeboxes. Yes, sorry for that mix-up.

Then, I dropped pieces of Tygan into those shoeboxes and arranged them neatly. What a sweet surprise for Harissa when she returns! I organized her kid for her!

Sincerely,

Obviously not Tygan

Morella

There, this would make the police realize what a phoney my reflection is. I looked up and saw Humpty Dumpty sitting across from me, grinning.

I was so happy to see him because I’d be so lost without him telling me what to do.

“Nowwww, kill yourselfffff…Use the pennnn…”

 ~~~~~

Author’s Notes:

Be careful of who you let to babysit your children. There are so many cases where children are abused in various ways, injured and even killed. Some of these are done by the people whom the parents trust completely with their life, like family and friends.

Definition from https://definedictionarymeaning.com

__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 💖 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

halloweenslasherpsychologicalfictionCONTENT WARNING
182

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (142)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountaina day ago

    Hi Dharrsheena ♥️ You never fail to disappoint but this time I was literally hanging onto each word. You are the ‘High Preistess of Horror!’ I was just mentioning this to Rick in his latest ‘shout out’ piece where I was most honoured to find myself in your company! I would really appreciate if you could read my entry for the ‘Just one minute’ Challenge and if you could give me some feedback. I am new to the short story genre and any sage advice would be welcomed. Maybe the next one to experiment with is ‘Horror.’ Thinking of you Pauline 🌸 https://vocal.media/fiction/paused

  • Anna about a month ago

    Wow! This was terrifying to read! Well done, great story!

  • Disturbia indeed! Wow! I really liked the read!

  • Courtanae Heslop2 months ago

    Love it!

  • M. Lee2 months ago

    This was definitely disturbing and a good reminder to keep an eye on people you trust to watch your kids. Expertly written! Great storytelling as always!!!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    There’s a reason you’re the queen of horror on Vocal, Dharrsheena. Wowser! Great storytelling! Congrats on top story! Well deserved!

  • That was intense, wow! A terrifying warning to be wary of whoever you trust, especially when it comes to those you care about.

  • MR.Marsh2 months ago

    Awesome..

  • Hendrik SancheZ2 months ago

    EXCELLENT I LIKE VERY GOOD

  • Wow, that was...intense. It hit me at core. I have always been a little (some may say overly cautious-but they are allowed if i know the people they're with.) with where I allow my children to stay or not stay depending on the awareness of who the family/person is. But in my opinion it a better safe then sorry type of situation. No one ever regretted keeping their child TOO safe. loved this.

  • Sandeep Kumar 3 months ago

    Excellent piece and a joy to read and congrats on the TS

  • Ivy Brownie3 months ago

    What did i just read? creepy!

  • Test3 months ago

    Creepy!! I like it! ✍️

  • Annetta Brown3 months ago

    I can relate. I have gone down that path of darkness many times in my life. I cant talk about it so I try to through my writing like you. Very good read.

  • Very unique and should have waited until til daylight to read this haha. Great writing!

  • Enoch3 months ago

    Nice but scary. It really relegates to the noir fantasy. Now I know not to trust blindly.

  • Reija Sillanpaa3 months ago

    Brilliantly unexpected. You make Morella sound so innocent, while completely deranged.

  • Annie Edwards 3 months ago

    What an amazing piece. I love how you use such a disturbing plot to convey an important message. This will make people think twice for sure. Your writing style is very captivating creepy. I love it 😍

  • Blake Booth4 months ago

    Genuinely Terrifying. I was not ready for anything that happened. You made the madness real.

  • Very Good.

  • Sam BTC4 months ago

    Uff!! that was was really scary and disturbing :O

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    This is such a profoundly insane and disturbing piece—in a good way, of course. My heart was pounding the whole time. I knew that something was going to happen to the child, but I wasn’t sure what, and in the back of my mind, I hoped that even that was just a hallucination. Very well done.

  • Nofisat lawal4 months ago

    Creepy but really cool and deep

  • Lana Broussard4 months ago

    What an incredible, gritty story! You also have some phenomenal images also. Nice writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.