Fiction logo

The Horrifying Moniker

Mother Comb's Campfire Challenge

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 8 months ago β€’ Updated 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
138
Photo by Elīna Arāja on Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-s-face-3319333/

"Rhea? That's a pretty name!"

"Gee, thanks May!"

"You wanna know a secret?" asked May.

"Sure!"

"May isn't my full name. It's just what I tell people to call me."

"Oh, is it like short for Mabel or Maisy?"

May snorted, "No, silly! It's short for Mayonnaise!"

"Your name is Mayonnaise?" Rhea raised an eyebrow.

"I swear!"

"Must be nice having that name."

"Embarrassing is more like it! People always make fun of my name!"

"At least your name isn't scary like mine. People get so terrified when they learn what Rhea short is for. I will never forget the looks of horror on their faces." confessed Rhea.

"Oh come on, now you have to tell me your full name!"

"No way! I'm not gonna lose the only friend I've made, that too on the first day of camp!"

"Don't be silly! Now come on, tell me your scary name already!"

Rhea was very reluctant, but somehow she managed to get it out.

"What? Speak up, I can't hear you!"

Rhea closed her eyes for a moment before blurting out.

"MY NAME IS DIARRHEA!"

~~~~~

Author's Note:

This story is for Mother Comb's Campfire Challenge and this is the scariest shit (pun not intended) that I could come up with and despite knowing it is a shitty idea (pun not intended), I still went with it 🀣

Here are some fun facts:

  • Sally is short for Saliva
  • Sadie is short for Sardine
  • Emma is short for Eczema (Sorry Heather πŸ˜…)
  • Lizzie is short for Lizard
  • Tessa is short for Testicles (I think Paul would like this 🀣)
  • Lori is short for Calorie

    Let me know in the comments if you can think of more 🀣

    __________________________________________
    Thank you so much for reading this! πŸ₯° If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

    You might enjoy this as well:

thrillerShort StorySatirePsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionHumorHorrorCONTENT WARNING
138

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❀️ Erythrophile ❀️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
πŸ–€ Elegantly Disturbed Mind πŸ–€

Instagram 🀍 Facebook 🀍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (113)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenneth cruz2 days ago

    🀣

  • Mika Oka10 days ago

    What a name 🀣🀣🀣

  • mahmoud elsaad10 days ago

    So beautifully written! Loved it.

  • I laughed so hard at that twist at the endβ€”I appreciate the unexpected comedy!

  • Aurora3 months ago

    congratulations on your Top Story!

  • πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ hehehe good one Dharrsheena!

  • The king of World4 months ago

    so nice

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    I remember this🀣 So great

  • Isabella Rose5 months ago

    This made me laugh so much. Thanks for the smile before work.

  • Nicole Poston5 months ago

    I love this. Read it to my husband and we laughed. Where ate you from?

  • ITS YOUR DESTINY 6 months ago

    Screaming, not that's a shitty name ! Definitely a good giggle thank you .

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    I laughed so hard at this I had to share it around the family!

  • Test7 months ago

    Very relatable! Well written!

  • Next Koding7 months ago

    The conversation feels natural and playful, which helps to set a light-hearted tone. Impressive!

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Ha ha! I just came across this in my explorations. So funny and creative πŸ˜‚

  • Shantel Ruth 7 months ago

    Excellent πŸ‘Œ

  • I did not see that end coming. I would change my name for sure!

  • Berry Driven7 months ago

    I did not expect this sudden comedy. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ Brillant. I was preparing myself for terror then just burst out laughing so if the horror was to kill me with laughter mission accomplished.

  • Amelia Moore7 months ago

    Haha, this was really cute. A childish, lighthearted tone that worked really well for what you were trying to accomplish!

  • AL. K.7 months ago

    Nice work! πŸ‘πŸ»

  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    Hilarious, I LOVED it - so clever. Short, sweet, succinct and amazing!

  • Gina C.7 months ago

    LOL, this is amazing, dear Red Partner! My my, I'm not sure how I missed this...I guess I've been a bit MIA for awhile now. πŸ₯Ήβ€οΈ I definitely did not expect that - I kept guessing what it could be. πŸ˜… Amazing job, dear friend, and congrats on Top Story!! πŸ€—β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    I will just echo everyone else! Suffice it to say, this was a blazing success for all who read it. Congrats on TS, my friend. Your humor is quite infectious (pun intended...?)

  • Test7 months ago

    That was really well-written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.