Poets logo

In It

'Ask Me in December', Babs Iverson's Unofficial Challenge

By Kendall Defoe Published 17 days ago โ€ข Updated 17 days ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
21
In It
Photo by Manasvita S on Unsplash

If I make it that far,

you can pose the question;

to ask me in December

is just a suggestion.

*

If I ask you to tell me more,

pointing a finger at you,

I will wait for December,

or sooner (this will do).

*

If I forget to say a word

about all the things in my mind,

December will seem absurd...

What could we ask, both running blind...

*

I will keep the end of the year quite close.

The ask we want will count the most.

By Justin Veenema on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

GratitudeSonnetsocial commentaryinspirationalFirst Draft
21

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 9 days ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Emil Indarw10 days ago

    ๐Ÿ˜‚ out of words

  • Mark Gagnon11 days ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story, Kendall

  • Novel Allen11 days ago

    Hopefully all the dreams and asks will be the one for everyone. Congrats.

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    That last line is particularly lovely.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŽŠ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŽŠ

  • Tiffany Gordon 14 days ago

    Well written!

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Love your insight into humans and the ability to place that to paper

  • Heather Hubler17 days ago

    I love the way those last two lines landed. This is a wonderful entry :)

  • John Cox17 days ago

    Bridging a psychological divide seems so much harder than it aught to be. I loved the tension and hope swimming just below the surface in your poem, Kendall. Itโ€™s pragmatic and romantic at the same time.

  • Oooo, I loved your take on this challenge!

  • angela hepworth17 days ago

    Beautiful contribution!!

  • Babs Iverson17 days ago

    Super and superbly written!!! Love it!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.