Fiction logo

Make the Memory

16th April, Story #107/366

By L.C. SchΓ€ferPublished 15 days ago β€’ 3 min read
16
Make the Memory
Photo by Guilherme Stecanella on Unsplash

When I was eleven, I put a message in a bottle and threw it into the sea.

My dad had taken us on holiday to Ireland. He was afraid of flying, so whenever we went abroad, we always went on a ferry. When we were about to board the boat for the return trip, I got the idea in my head to throw a note into the ocean.

I wrote it myself, including my name and address, and asking whoever found it to write back to me. Dad helped me seal the bottle so it wouldn't fill with water and sink, my letter ruined.

I was impatient to pitch it off the deck, but he made me wait. "It will get crushed by the boat turning if you do it now," he said. "Wait until we are further out to sea."

When the right moment came he filmed me doing it, and then recorded my little bottle bobbing about in the water. It was late, and quite dark, so the video was dim and grainy, but the whole thing felt like an adventure.

There was this huge sense of possibility. Such a small bottle. Such a big ocean. How far would it go? Would anyone ever find it? When, and who? I was buzzing with excitement. I lay in the dark, the boat rolling with the waves, thinking about my message. Willing it to find its way to somebody.

I thought about it often after that. How long would it take to reach a shore?

Time did as time does. It wore away at my excitement, and eroded my impatience. Weeks ticked by, and I thought of it less. If it crossed my mind at all, it was as a passing wistful fancy. "If only someone had found it. That would have been good."

Many months later, a letter arrived. I didn't recognise the handwriting on the envelope. I had no idea what it was, until I opened it and read it. I was so excited, I think I smiled so much my face almost split.

Make the memory.

Pick your moment.

Take the shot.

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding note): 366

Submitted on: 16th April at 23:10

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 107 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far! I'm collating them all here.

Prompts: If you'd like to have a go at my unofficial April Challenge (Fucked Up Fairytales) I've linked it at the bottom. If you'd like some more prompts to get your creative juices flowing, I've posted a list of prompts for April, and I've linked that as well.

Leave me a link: if you have a story based on a happy memory! Why is that memory important to you? Did you learn anything from it?

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier.

Short StoryMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

L.C. SchΓ€fer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    Loved the build up with imagery and childlike narration to an impactful close! Well done!

  • Great! Love it.

  • This was a really joyful read LC!

  • Gerard DiLeo15 days ago

    Great l'il story! Enjoyed it lots.

  • This made me smile so much! Imagine everyone did this. How exciting it would be!

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    I just kept thinking so .uch washes ashore these days no one would bother opening it.

  • Such a great message. Through the whole story I kept hearing sting sing the old Police song

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    I love messages in bottles!

  • That was excellent, such a fun tale, left with so many possibilities. It felt very real but at the same time had some almost otherworldly mystery to it, just a hint.

  • Caroline Craven15 days ago

    Love this one. The innocence of youth. Happy days.

  • Mark Gagnon15 days ago

    You are definitely one of the rare few that got their wish granted. Great memory!

  • John Cox15 days ago

    This is a wonderful and amazing memory, LC! I have posted one story from my childhood memories on Vocal. But is more the memory of a place and the people I loved who lived there, than a single memory. The story itself is fused from the memoriam that I wrote for my father's funeral in 2025 and a story of special memories that I wrote for his 80th birthday in 2019. https://vocal.media/families/the-bridge-dlqo060qsc

  • Lana V Lynx15 days ago

    Awww, so sweet. What did the letter say, though? Did you stay in touch? I want more!

  • Alexander McEvoy15 days ago

    That was so sweet, LC! I was half expecting the letter to eat the POV's face or something lol. Loved this cute story :)

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    I love this. That quote is so inspiring. Well done..

  • Such a great memory!!! πŸ˜ŽπŸ€“

  • Kendall Defoe 15 days ago

    I love this. And I think I did this when I was a child and went to see family in the Caribbean. Thanks for this!

  • JBaz15 days ago

    Such an inspirational story. I so like that idea and to do it with a parent.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.