Fiction logo

Frozen Layer

Is it safe to cross?

By Real PoeticPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
12
Photo taken by R.P.

Snow fills up my shoes trying to remember the way back. I got lost not paying attention to the group. Panic overwhelms my body as I approach a terrible nightmare. Turning around is fatal, and moving forward is a gamble. There isn’t much time to think twice, so I carry on in fear of falling.

I know the water beneath is below freezing.

I have to sneeze, but I’m afraid that letting it go may cause the ice to break.

I rub my nose to help the sensation disappear, clench my fists, and lightly tap my toe on the ice to test its strength.

I don’t hear a crack, and I exhale deeply after holding my breath in for about a minute.

My life is on the line.

I tap it again just to be certain.

Nothing happens, and I regain an ounce of confidence that I won’t soon be maggot food.

Gently, I place my right foot on the ice.

I’m not a tiny woman by any means, and it still doesn’t seem to be fragile, so I inhale heavily as I slide my left foot onto the frozen surface.

My feet are now planted side by side on this skeptical, icy lake.

I’m shivering.

My knees are about to explode from walking such a long distance.

I take one step at a time and count them in my head.

One…

Two…

Crack!

I try to stop abruptly.

I fall into the icy waters, and then I wake up.

PsychologicalthrillerMicrofiction
12

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I was holding my breath the whole time! Thank God it was a dream! Loved your story!

  • That's a good place for the nightmare to end. Well done, R.P.

  • This was described so well, I could feel the cold air and the ice beneath! It reminded me of being back home in the winter. With the cold and bleak feelings all around. Also the description of holding in a sneeze was spot on and suspenseful! This is an excellent one. Can I vote for it to win?

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    So atmospheric. I could have been standing precariously on the ice right there from reading your wonderful descriptive. Good luck in the challenge

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    Now that's an icebreaker!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Oh no. Ice walker beware.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.