Fiction logo

A Fatal Nod

A Competitive Microfiction

By Kenny PennPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
22
Photo Licensed by Unsplashed + in Collaboration with Getty Images

The stench of rotten meat wakes her. Desperately, she tries returning to her nightmares, but sleep again mocks her with its flight.

She presses an ear to the wall separating her bedroom from the bathroom.

Splashes. An occasional wail. She whimpers.

Pain lances up the inside of her arm. The track marks no longer faded scars but hundreds of tiny scabs.

Karma. Utter torment every night because he'd drowned after she'd popped a vein and nodded off.

The bathroom door swings open. The toddler standing in the tub is bloated, his pale, marbled skin peeling away from reddened tissue.

“Mommy?”

***

A/N: Thank you so much for reading! This piece was originally submitted to NYC Midnight's "100-Word-Microfiction" competition. I won't know the results until June, but I'd love to hear feedback from you! Comments are always welcome.

MicrofictionHorrorCONTENT WARNING
22

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 6 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    Urghh! it's HORRIBLE! I LOVE IT!

  • angela hepworth10 days ago

    Love to see some great horror on here!! Amazing work!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Alyssa Nicole10 days ago

    Wow! This is such a haunting micro, Kenny! You really evoke all the senses with your vivid imagery. It's a disturbing but realistic story. Congrats on the Top Story! 🎉 P.S. Did you make it to the second round in the Short Story Challenge?! I would love to read your story (or stories) if you've posted them here or on the forum!

  • Chilling and intriguing to say the least 😳 wow Congratulations on top story!

  • I’m reading it as more shock value than genuine emotion, but you successfully conveyed an entire story in such a tight word count. Congrats on your Top Story.

  • Jazzy 11 days ago

    WOW this grabbed me in the heart, very well done! I was just asking myself what a micro fiction looked like and of course you would deliver!

  • D. D. Lee11 days ago

    I enjoy a nice horror piece. Congrats on T.S.!

  • JBaz11 days ago

    Horror at its best. because it is a true possibility, unfortunately. Well done, Congratulations

  • Heather Hubler11 days ago

    Back to say congrats on TS!!

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    Hideous. Not yet writing, that's great. The content...well done.

  • Hehehehehehehe this made me giggle. Thank you so much for this delicious piece! It made my day. All the best for that competition. Keeping my fingers crossed for you 🤞🤞✨️❤️

  • Heather Hubler11 days ago

    Wow, Kenny!! So many well placed and well chosen words. Emotions were all there and investment in the scene was immediate for me. Awesome work, good luck!!!

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Oh yowza, horrifyingly haunted.

  • Matthew Fromm11 days ago

    Chilling….great entry

  • Kendall Defoe 11 days ago

    Holy Ship!

  • Suze Kay11 days ago

    Oh my gosh, Kenny, chilling and evocative and sad and horrifying (and, and, and). I LOVE IT. Fingers crossed for you!! Have you watched the Apple TV show "Servant"? This piece really reminded me of it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.