Fiction logo

A Demon Comes Calling

13th April, Story #104/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 18 days ago Updated 18 days ago 4 min read
20

I know he's there. I can always feel it.

He's never reached for me, not yet anyway. Always feels like he's gonna. Will his scabbed, liver-spotted hands make contact with me, or pass through?

Ugh.

I try to convince myself I don't gotta pee, but it's useless.

I've never told mum or my sister, Thea, about him. They'd scoff, and I'd feel stupid. Worse, they'd get scared, and their fear would magnify mine. Have they seen him? Suspended near the ceiling in his tatty black coat, nose curved like a knife, eyes gleaming? Or is he here for me?

Just a figment of my imagination, right? The darker thoughts and feelings I've wrestled with come out to play. But... no. He's not human, never has been, even though he's human-shaped. A manifestation of pure malice.

It's no good. Can't hold it. I look round for a bottle, something, anything... but mum's cleaned in here.

Heart thundering, shaking, feeling sick, I move. Hurrying, 'cause I've held it too long. Almost whimpering out loud when I open the door.

He doesn't make a sound, but he's laughing. I feel it. My head turns as if on a string, and yep: his too-big mouth stretched wide, those thin lips pulled back from tombstone teeth and bloodless gums. Coat flapping in a strong breeze isn't there... yet he's being carried forward on it, arms out, fingers like claws.

I try to move, but it's like he has me in a web. I stumble out of his reach, exactly as the ice of his fingertips grazes the back of my neck.

I slam the bathroom door. Too late; pyjamas soaked. I barely notice, sobbing and vomiting.

When my gut's empty and my breath steadies, I rinse my PJs in the sink and stuff them in the hamper. Calmer now. Don't even peek to check he's gone. I know he has.

I head back to it bed, creeping dread in my veins.

In the morning, my neck hurts. I've a headache that won't shift. When the seizures start, mum marches me to the doctor. Guess where the tumour is?

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on: 13th April at 23:30

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 104 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far. I'm collating them all here.

Content warning: I was going to use an AI image of the demon for the cover picture, but decided it would be cheating and I should should rely on descriptive Wossname to get the picture into your brain. I've included a couple of things AI threw out further down. They are reasonably close to what I imagined. If you'd like to be creeped out and/or never visit the loo in the night ever again, keep scrolling!

Leave me a comment if you've had any weird ghostly experiences that freaked you out. Scare me silly!

Prompts: If you'd like to have a go at my unofficial April Challenge (Fucked Up Fairytales) I've linked it at the bottom. If you'd like some more prompts to get your creative juices flowing, I've posted a list of prompts for April, and I've linked that as well.

Here come the images!

First, a blooper from the cover pic attempt. How many fingers??

Here comes the creep fest!

+

+

+

Last chance to back out!

+

+

+

I imagined him more human-looking than this.

My personal favourite:

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier.

Young AdultShort StoryMicrofictionHorror
20

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit11 days ago

    Scary 😂😂😂

  • It's interesting because you could almost ask in a fictional piece, which came first the chicken or the egg? Or in this case, the Creep or the Tumor? Well done LC!

  • Caroline Craven17 days ago

    The AI pics are super creepy…. But your words are far more effective. Great one L.C.

  • Cathy holmes17 days ago

    That was great. Wonderful job on the pics as well.

  • Creepily excellent, great story

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    The picture you made in my head was scarier.

  • Hehehehehehhehehehe I loved all the images! Your story was fantastic!

  • Thavien Yliaster18 days ago

    I do like the spoopy pictures and the way You describe him and the main character needing a bottle makes me think that the character accidentally killed the ghost/demon/ghoul when they were alive via a drunk driving accident or something else that the person lost a sense of judgement on. It also reminds me of "him" from the cowbell SCP. "He sees You. He follows You. Now that You've heard it, he can touch You."

  • Well-wrought! Your description of the demon was vivid, and frankly the AI didn't do justice to the power of my own imagination in conjunction with your words! Nor is the AI ever going to equal the marvel of a Frank Frazetta! It's like the old argument about analog vs. digital audio. Yeah, the tape hissed and the record had bumps and scratches, but they had something else, a depth and warmth that digitization will never emulate. Like the difference between viewing a painted canvas in person and only seeing a picture of it. The difference between pictures of hands and holding one in the flesh. The dream of a kiss and lips on yours. The mere talk of peace and the genuine feeling of embracing one's fate. I could go on, but just wanted you to know, your words are enough. No offense to the AI. Perhaps if it becomes truly conscious, it will understand, but then, would it be artificial?

  • Daphsam18 days ago

    Wow, that was very creepy! Well done!

  • John Cox18 days ago

    I guess everyone is different, but I thought the story was way creepier than the illustrations. Great work like always!

  • Scary

  • Gerard DiLeo18 days ago

    Heebie-jeeby!

  • Christy Munson18 days ago

    Enjoyed this one. For me, this one cuts way too close to the bone, not because of any fears of mine, but because my father-in-law passed away a year ago (at the end of this month). After falling in the bathroom, unable to get up, he was rushed to the hospital and diagnosed with an enormous glioblastoma (big as a football). The images of the nightmare beings don't scare me now. I've seen far worse. If you have time and inclination, here's a taste of Old Fear: https://vocal.media/horror/old-fear

  • Heather Hubler18 days ago

    This was creeptastic!! You definitely painted the picture well. Sent chills down my spine!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.