Wheel logo

Living My Muscle Car Dreams (sort of)

A Very Cool Old School Muscle Car Test Drive Youtube Channel

By Steve B HowardPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Living My Muscle Car Dreams (sort of)
Photo by Meritt Thomas on Unsplash

I have a stupid dream that most likely will never be achieved. And probably shouldn’t be achieved since it would be a pretty bad example of hoarding and owning cars that aren’t what the planet needs right now. But, I’d be lying if I said I’m ready to stop at least dreaming about this one.

I was born in 1970, an absolutely awesome year for American Muscle Cars. At least nine of the car companies in the US at that time produced at least one if not several, very cool and for their day, very fast Muscle Cars.

Assuming my crypto-currency doesn’t turn me into a multi-millionaire someday, I think it is very unlikely that I will ever own a Muscle Car again. My first car was a 1975 Pontiac Firebird. (Before and After Pics). After, meaning I dumped a shit ton of money into it over the course of about three and a half years. Spoiler Alert, it never did run very well and I spent about triple on the paint job, rims, tires, and new motor than what my dad originally paid for it.

Steve B Howard 2022

Steve B Howard 2022

Like they say though, you can take the boy out of the Muscle Car, but you can’t err, take the uh, anyway, something like that.

As a way to comfort my sad little lost wild youth, I’ve been watching these Youtube videos (obsessively some might say) by Nick at Maple Motors.

As I mentioned it is my silly dream/fantasy to own at least nine of the cool 1970 Muscle Cars like the 1970 Plymouth Baracuda in the Maple Motors Youtube video above.

If you happen to be in the market for a cool Muscle Car, Maple Motors would be a great place to start in my opinion. Each video gives a detailed test drive and walk around that points out any flaws or potential mechanical problems. Pretty damn good coming from a used car dealer if you ask me. The last time I bought a used car in 2002, I nearly had to fist fight the assholes just to get them to clean the car out.

And if my silly little dream ever did come true, these are the nine cars that I would love to own, with videos from Maple Motors for many of them.

1970 Chevelle

1970 Plymouth Satellite/Roadrunner (The 1970 Cuda above would be my first choice, but this is a very cool ride too!)

1970 Dodge Challenger (I’m not a big fan of the 318 V8, but this one is a convertible, so I’d take it.)

1970 Ford Torino

1970 Pontiac GTO

1970 Buick GSX (Muscle Car of the Week video)

1970 Mercury Cyclone (Hankster Video)

This might seem like an odd choice considering Mercury also built the Cougars, which are awesome cars too, but I love the different look of these Cyclones and if they have the 429 Cobra Jet engine as well they are pretty impressive performers, at least by 1970's standards.

1970 AMC AMX (Vanguard Motors Video)

This was the only two seater out of my 9 + 1 picks. I like the AMC Javelins and the Ramblers as well, but I think it is cool that another American car company, other than Chevy's Corvette, put out a two seater Muscle Car. Technically, I guess the Sunbeam Tiger would count as well, but it was at least somewhat of a British car.

1970 Oldsmobile 442 (Vanguard Motors video)

These would be my top 9 + 1.

Honorable mentions, meaning I’d buy them too in a heartbeat if I could, would include a 1970 Z28 Camaro, 1970 Pontiac Trans Am, 1970 Chevy Nova, 1970 Chevy El Camino, 1970 Mercury Cougar, 1970 Chevy Corvette, 1970 Dodge Charger, 1970 Plymouth Duster, and a 1970 Mustang Mach I.

vintagepop culture
2

About the Creator

Steve B Howard

Steve Howard's self-published collection of short stories Satori in the Slip Stream, Something Gaijin This Way Comes, and others were released in 2018. His poetry collection Diet of a Piss Poor Poet was released in 2019.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dave Wettlaufer5 months ago

    Now you're talking with that SS and of coerce, the other cars aren’t too shabby either. But sorry to break it to you pal, the 1976 Shelby 500 is the only car and the last going price is $$$120,000.oo at the last auction. You see, I’m still dreamen too. 😀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.