Wander logo

To me you are perfect: reminders for everyday

Experiences with doubt

By Sophia GenoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Small reminders

While on my trip in South Korea, I saw and learned many life changing things. For one who has never been out of the country, I strongly recommend it. Although I personally had interest in South Korea, I believe any country could give the same effect.

On this particular day me and my Finnish friends met with our South Korean friend to see a movie in Myeongdong (명동). The weather was unforgiving this November day and it was perfect for movies. Throughout my trip at this time, I was struggling with my insecurity of bad skin. All of my Finnish friends were also beautiful so I found myself comparing to them. We all know this is bad, you should never compare your beauty to another’s, as it devalues your own. However, I found it increasingly difficult to hold in.

After walking to the 15th floor of a mall in Myengdong (명동), we all arrived to a brick accented theater lobby. While my friends chose the movie I was stocking up on free movie posters (which are available at theaters in South Korea), I noticed some neon sighs on the lobby wall. This one really struck me. It’s funny how one sentence or one sight of something can solve problems you didn't know you had. I suddenly felt so much better, and I didn’t even know I felt bad. It made sense though. This whole trip meant so much to me and I was being too self conscious. On this trip I would meet online friends after 2-3 years of friendship. I would be traveling to the places I saved money for a whole year for. This trip also held personal value as it was to prove to myself I can make my dreams come true. This was all slowly putting pressure on my mind that I wasn’t giving attention to. These small signs, not just literal, hold a lot of meaning.

South Korea has many neon signs as decoration. For me, I never realized how much influence countries give to each-other. As an American especially I felt this. America has a special way of creating a bubble around its citizens, if you’re unaware to it. This was part of bursting my own bubble. To think that an old film such as Love Actually (2003) would have a quote one day in neon at a South Korean theater is something I wouldn’t imagine. We as people are more connected than we think. I saw this many times in South Korea. Things I thought of as personally meaningful were also other peoples’ meaningful things too; people who were half way around the world from me.

Over all that day went by too fast just as all days on a vacation do. Every second was enjoyable yet I still find myself needing to cleanse my thoughts. It is easier than you perceive own thoughts to become self-destructive. I wonder too many times why my mind can easily make an enemy of its self, but if you are willing, the world will try to cheer you up. Just as this neon violet sign in the lobby of a South Korean theater did for me. Passing streets filled with cosmetics and clothing that scream “Buy me! I’ll make you more beautiful, more lovable, more important!” etc. it can weigh subconsciously on your mind. It’s essential to give yourself small reminders to just enjoy and not take everything so seriously. After I accepted that train of thought amazing things happened on my trip. I was reminded that great things can happen.

"Take my love"

This is another neon sign I saw at Coex aquarium in Seoul. It is done by independent artist Kim Sangjun from Jeju isalnd (제주도). I was happily surprised to see Coex supporting artists this way, not to mention the art is adorable.

The moon jelly exhibit at Coex

These signs continued to remind me throughout my trip to enjoy all I can.

Let's live happily ever after

While hiking up to Namsan Tower (남산타워), I was feeling out of breath. When I was coincidentally on a road with my nickname (sopa/ 소파) to remind yet again, to enjoy.

All of your charms are lovely^^

Maybe these signs meant more to me than they should've but it turned out this way. At an arcade in Hongdae (홍대) I found myself alone while all my friends played games. I loved watching them laugh so much that night. I still love the fact that we never had a dull moment together and they truly made me feel like family.

Neon signs are known to capture attention and these did a marvelous job on me. Since their creation in Paris 1910 they've made their way into the hearts of millions. Neon signs will now hold more meaning to me than beer and open signs.

asia
1

About the Creator

Sophia Geno

I love to write about travel, poems, art, and social issues. Stay with me for Korean content, and more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.